Sunday, January 7, 2007 11:30 p.m.

Quick trip

I spent the weekend at Mom's. I didn't get started until late yesterday. I was cranky on the ride up and hungry. I didn't want to stop for fast food since I've given it up, but I stopped at a little lunch and coffee shop and ended up with donuts and crappy coffee. Sometimes chains are better because you know what you'll be getting. Then I needed a bathroom for the last two hours and never could find the right one. Frustrating. And two wrecks slowed me down through Fort Worth. I swear I keep saying I'm always going through Dallas because the traffic doesn't get as hung up and then I forget and I get stuck on 35 in Fort Worth again.

Finally got there and I was a little overcome with sadness when I came in the house. Mom and Dad always just leave the garage open for us and we come in through that door. They are always busy at the TV or the other end of the house and any stranger could come walking in on them. This time was no different and I came in and no sign of Mother. But it struck me as so sad when I realized that Daddy wasn't going to be in his chair or off taking a breathing treatment or sitting at the kitchen table reading the paper. He always hopped up and was happy to see me. I shook it off and didn't let Mother know that I felt this way. I did find her off in a bathroom.

Last night we watched the Cowboys play their last game of the season. Oh, Romo, oh, Romo!!! I hate it hate it hate it that Romo was the one that ultimately lost the game for them in the end. What a sad way to end a game and a season. Poor poor boy. But I hope Parcells and TO get fired this week. That will make me feel better.

Today we both slept late and I made potato and corn soup for lunch. We worked some sudoku puzzles (I am so terrible at them!) and talked. Finally I left and went by my sister's. My younger nephew, the drum major, tried out for State yesterday and DIDN'T make it. We knew he'd be heartbroken. It just about killed him last year when he didn't make it and his older brother did. But we figured he would make it this year. Somehow he didn't. But he seemed okay with it. I think he is just so tired of band and all the sacrifices that he has made for band this year that he is just over it and doesn't even care. But I'm sorry he didn't make it. He said, "I'm on the Wall of Fame, that's all I care." He's on the Wall at their high school because last year at the solo UIL contests he was named Outstanding Soloist.

So I drove back this afternoon. I found the TV show 60 minutes on radio, which was cool, and I listened to all of it. That made an hour pass quickly. Got home about 8:30. Mark was messing around with his new computer and then he got a migraine. Poor thing. He had a day off and it hit him.

I sure wish I had a couple of days to regroup before work. I didn't even work on logs at my Mom's house. Didn't accomplish anything except a good visit. But it was a good visit and I'm glad I went.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland