Saturday, Jan. 07, 2006 10:41 am

First weekend

I made it to the weekend. What a long week! Who knew a "short" holiday week could last so long??? I guess it technically hasn't ended because I still have to go to the station today and do an airshift (track it) and tweak a couple of music things. But, I need to get out of the house for a bit anyway so that will make me do it.

Lots of interaction with others yesterday. I know, I know, I'm around people all the time, but not really. But I was yesterday. I had lunch with the office manager from the psychologist's office where I used to work. She is just an amazing woman. She is fun and inspiring and encouraging. Just a boost to be around her. We went to JC's Steakhouse, which has great food and terrific lunches and is so reasonably priced and always so accessible. I wish it were further south. But it was a good halfway point for us and I'm glad we could meet up.

Work was good... still enjoying the afterglow of the UT victory. I also had a good question for my trivia and that is a fun discovery. I strive for every question to be of this caliber, but I don't hit the mark that often. This year I am trying to keep my questions written down and know the source and everything so I can get the book put together! I want to do that. It would be HUGE. Hell, if just 10% of my listeners bought it and I profited $1 from each book sold, we'd be talking close to 10,000 big ones! Focus, focus.... get it written first.

Then last night after work I went out with an old boyfriend. Nothing to worry about, our marriages are fine, but we had a good time. It is nice to have old friends even though we don't have a whole lot in common anymore (not that we did 20 years ago either, really).

The best part of the evening was when we got to El Arroyo for dinner. The cute little waitress came up to take our order and then she looked at me and said, "Do I know you from somewhere?" and then she answered her own question and got so excited that I was who I was!! She said she and her boyfriend just LOVE me and we discussed Jack's show coming up this Wednesday. She was thrilled to meet me, and I was thrilled to have my friend see what a celebrity I am in this town! It was almost as if I had set it up, it was so perfect.

So I guess three years is the point that people start recognizing a celebrity in this town. In the last two weeks I've had two gushers telling me how much they love me. I have no problem with that becoming a regular thing (except when I'm in the grocery store in sweat pants and no makeup).

After a great meal at El Arroyo, we went across the street to the Mean-Eyed Cat. I highly recommend that bar! What a cool joint. I don't go into too many bars that don't have live music, but this was something special. I will have to make an effort to go there again. It was fun. We just had another beer there and then I took Tom back to the hotel. I'll see him again tonight because he has no other Austin friends apparently.

Mark has had migraines the last couple of nights. That is partially why he didn't go with us out to dinner. I think the stress and intensity of recording this CD is hitting him hard this week. They are almost through, though, so it should improve.

I think I am going to make a new year's resolution. Hold on to you hat! This year, I resolve to make a three item TO DO list every day and make every attempt to DO those three things. I don't have to do twelve or conquer the world and the items might only be "go to work" and "watch tv" and "email," if it is a rough day, but I will make a list and attempt it each day.

Today, my list is 1.) Go to the bank and make a deposit, 2.) Go to the station and finish the work I need to do there, and 3.) Write and mail ONE f***ing Christmas card. The price of postage goes up tomorrow and that is not enough to motivate me to do all my Christmas cards (and save all of maybe 50 cents...whooohooo), but the hassle of having to go get 2 cent stamps might make me do a few today. But I will do ONE, for sure.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland