2000-01-07 01:03:19

More blah, granddads and hair color

Already this year seems to be slipping away without me being productive at all. Six days into it and I haven't accomplished a thing or lost a pound or written the great American novel.

Couldn't get myself out of bed until after noon today. Managed to only get the bare minimum done at work again. I am really looking forward to this weekend and having a little time to regroup and get myself together.

Enough complaints.

Congratulations to me! I think today makes two full months I've been pretty faithful about writing in this journal. It has really been a fun experience.

I was going to walk down to the Flamingo Cantina tonight to see the DeFrockers play but it was beginning to rain and it was cold and I figured my sinuses and throat didn't need to be out in it. Yes, I consider 55 degrees cold.

Drummerboy was awfully sweet tonight. I got home from work and he had been busy and productive all night long getting his knife shop built and organized. He bemoaned the fact that he hadn't gotten it painted tonight like he had planned. I told him to not let me interrupt his plans, he could go back to his work. He said, no, he'd rather stop and watch TV and be with me. That felt very nice because I wasn't conscious enough to do much more than veg.

Our granddaddies are in terrible shape. Mine had surgery today on his hip. He's 100 years old and you just shouldn't be operating on 100 year old people I'm afraid. They are calling his condition guarded and his blood pressure is very low. D-boy's grandfather had some strokes this past year and just in the last few months has become very unresponsive and weak and sleeps all the time. He's in an assisted living center in Tyler and Grandmother is with him. She is quite active and healthy but she is trying to take care of him so much by herself. He is 91. He isn't long for this world, I'm afraid. It is sad to see vibrant, mentally active, healthy men become so feeble.

Now to something completely shallow and self-centered: I'm getting my hair cut and colored tomorrow. D-boy looked at me with horror when I used the word "colored." I said, "I TOLD you I was getting it colored." He insisted I hadn't. I said, "I'm getting it highlighted." Oh, he reconsidered, I had told him that after all. I have to be up there by the university at 10 a.m. Way too early for me.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland