Friday, Jan. 05, 2007 11:28 am

The List Begins

I must get busy and get my "shit list" started. I am going to truly begin compiling those that are permanently on my shit list and those that are there temporarily (and I know it) and those that are teetering and could be on the permanent list if I have a bad day. Like my cousin. I am still so angry at her (and I'm sure will remain so). I have many many reasons to be angry with her in the first place, but this issue is that, in all the updates on Dad's health that she had over the six weeks, she never once emailed a "thanks for the updates" or "hope things work out." That was reason enough to get angry, but when she didn't come to the funeral, didn't send a card, didn't make a call, AND called her mother while she was gone to the funeral to insist that she get home as soon as possible to continue her unpaid job as babysitter for the two children of her crackhead ex- .... SHIT LIST.

And this guy that was on my show yesterday. I have met him in the past and I don't even remember how he ended up with my cell phone number. He called me on the morning of Dad's funeral (still haven't written about those days, have I?) with his fasttalking spiel, wanting to be on my show. I finally interrupted him and said "I'm going to my dad's funeral, can we talk later?" So yesterday he ends up on my show to promote his play. He talks to fast and thinks he's too funny (and he can be funny) and dominates things way too much instead of letting me get a question in edgewise. Even all of that would be forgiveable. What really irked me... He brings another guy that he is promoting. Now this other guy is a fabulous fiddle player. Maybe the best there is in Austin. I love him. He's my friend. He doesn't need this guy to promote him to me. And we were supposed to be promoting this play and he does double-duty by bringing this guy in that has absolutely nothing to do with the play. It was confusing to the listener, it was a bad interview, it was just lame. He also kept telling ME what to do. So.... we'll put him at the top of the 2007 SHIT LIST.

I made some fabulous soup last night. I think tonight I might recreate part of it and take it to Dallas with me and finish it up when I'm there with my Mom. I haven't 100% decided to go tomorrow, which probably means I don't want to go, but I think I will be going. I will watch the Cowboys with her (probably the last game of the season) and keep her company again. I might not be back up there until Dad's birthday weekend... the weekend of the Superbowl... so I should go.

My traffic girl should be in Colorado now for the big ski trip. I'm so glad I'm not there. It always sounds (in August) like it would be fun. But I checked the temps for today and they are expecting a high of 18 and a low tonight of -7. I just don't operate well in temps that cold and elevations that high. She was flying into Denver at 11 p.m. and then they were going to drive to Steamboat. We drove last time and I wouldn't want to do it in the dark! And I have a great mountain driver, an Eagle Scout, with me!

In my efforts to be more thoughtful this year, I got a get well card off to my friend Bryan's parents who were in a bad wreck last week and the dad is having surgery this morning on his ankle. They were very sweet and concerned about Dad all during his hospital stay.

Okay, to work. On my list today? Eeee. I will, 1.) ..... man, I can't think of anything that I feel like I can accomplish, so we'll go with the minimal. 1.) Do my show 2.) check and answer email 3.) eat an orange before I go to work.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland