January 05, 2003 11:38 am

First Sunday--Alone

I am home alone this morning. What a wonderful place to be. Mark played in Dallas last night and I don't expect him back until late this afternoon. It is my day to do with what I will. I've gotten a great start on it by sleeping delightfully late and then just laying there thinking for the best part of an hour. I do not get nearly enough time for daydreaming in my life. Of all the things I miss about being single, that is probably the biggest and something I could, and should, rectify.

My friend Perfect C did not make it back to Austin in time for lunch Thursday, which worked out well with my schedule anyway. I saw her and her new boyfriend/love-of-her-life last night. He was a cute California man that resembled Mark in a lot of ways. I, too, would be attracted to him if I saw him in a bar. He was personable and easy to talk to. She was fun to watch because she was so giddy! I've been there and I know how it feels. It feels wonderful! I'm happy for them and I hope they can keep it together and make this work. The downside to this guy---he is a lifelong Californian and I expect that California would be their home. I guess I could live with that, but I sure enjoy my brief visits to the Hill Country and her home and the all-you-can-eat catfish at the bowling alley in Blanco and going to the Friendly Bar and, hell, she's my only friend that ever offers me a joint now and then. Oh, well, a trip every so often to San Francisco would be okay.

I did not have the high anxiety and frustration yesterday through my workday that I had last Saturday. I wonder if it was because there were no frustrating or anxiety-causing events to stymie me, or if because of food/hormones/alcohol/drugs/whatever last week I reacted differently. I am grateful that it was not so frustrating. I can't take one of those days too often.

Tomorrow begins a very busy confusing week, I am afraid. I had just felt like I had gotten a handle on things at work when the commercial load for the station fell to next-to-nothing, which meant I had to go back in and add more music everywhere to make up for the time. Easier said than done. So instead of moving forward I am treading water trying to keep up with the situation at hand. Now, tomorrow I have to go to the new offices and learn our new computer system on that end and begin to make my music work in that system. I'm hoping for the best. We may still be at least two weeks away from the move to the new building, but the preparation is chaotic. I may long for these days pre-move once we get there. A new board, all new equipment, nothing where I am used to it being....it is going to be a rough start.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland