2000-01-05 00:10:45

Pootin' and such

How many entries can I begin bemoaning the disheveled state of my house and the dire need for my housecleaning services? Hmmmm, this is a leap year so I suppose only 366 entries in 2000.

The trouble is the man I am married to. He wouldn't really be categorized as a neatnik, but he does have the attitude of "everything in it's place and if there is no place, trash it!!" This week he has been like a whirlwind putting up new shelves and organizing. Yes, it is a blessing to have a husband that puts all the Christmas decorations away (I had only transported them to the garage and not packaged them) and puts them into the attic. It is a curse to have someone keep bringing boxes in and saying, "Is there anything in there you want to keep?" and finding it full of, if not my family heirlooms, at least $200 worth of curtains that I fully expect to get my value from one day even if they are off-white and this new house is completely stark hospital white. Maybe I will dye them. As for now, just politely close the box, put it into the attic and let me keep it. To his credit, he didn't argue when I said I wanted to keep it. I didn't have to explain. Whew.

I did manage to change the sheets and clean the kitchen and feed the birds and squirrels and dogs today. It always feels good to be outside and it makes me mad that I don't go out more often. I always feel better for having been outside.

I even went to the gym today and I will count it as a trip to the gym even though I only went to sit in the steam room. It was wonderful. I want to make more time for that, too. I was hoping it would clear up my head some. It felt good but I was still congested all afternoon. I do have to go to the gym tomorrow to meet with my personal trainer. That sounds so pretentious. I am just not a gym kind of person. I hope I get the hang of this eventually.

I am going to do a little housework tonight to clear my conscience and then I'm going to start in again on the Christmas cards. Yes, Christmas back in the 20th century. So I got a little behind this year. Sue me.

Oh, and before I forget. Have you heard that the new president of Russia is Putin? I'm not sure of the spelling but I know it pronounced Pootin'. So let's say that again: The president of Russia is Pootin'. hahahahaha We got into laughing fits with my nephews on New Year's Day over that. Then we came up with slogans for his campaign for election: Rootin' Tootin' Pootin' and "Pootin' in 2000." We made up lots of headlines for the coming months, too, like: "After years of oppression, Russians find relief in Pootin'" and "Clinton makes time for Pootin'" Try it, it's fun!!!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland