Thursday, Jan. 04, 2007 10:31 am

Started thank you notes

I actually got three thank yous written yesterday, so I'm on a roll! Last night, though, I was a vegetable and couldn't move off the couch or do anything. And this morning I am so groggy and feel in a daze.

My pettiness with my email worked a little yesterday at work. I had several people hug me and express sympathy for my loss. At least now everyone that knows me should KNOW that something happened. That old man that is a squatter in my office is so weird. Not a word of sympathy from him. I'm sure he has forgotten that he hasn't told me to my face since I was out when they talked about it on the air. Yesterday I went into the office and said "Hi squatter." No, I didn't. I called him by his name. Wouldn't have made any difference, though, he just continued picking up his things and his coat and ignoring me. So I said "Hello, squatter," yes, well, except, again, I used his name." Finally, he laughs and goes "Oh, hello!" like, oh, there is someone in the room with me. My new "Cotton" has said he doesn't need any part of my office so he isn't going to help uproot this old squatter. The new "Cotton" (he'll have to have a name) has discovered that the two men he works with don't like each other.... at all. That came as a total surprise to him.

The new "Cotton" also told me about his awful Christmas and his dog having a stroke and having to put him to sleep a couple of days later. So so sad!! That would be hard to get over.

We did get pouring rain yesterday. I walked to my car after work without getting soaked, but I couldn't have gone into and out of the grocery without an umbrella. I went to Central Mkt. and got us a dinner for two thing that they have. They don't realize that each one of us could have eaten the whole thing (or at least the whole entree), so I got some extra bread and a couple of apples. So I have had my fruit each day this new year (except maybe New Year's Day? I don't remember if that day counted).

I came home and heated the lasagna and put it all together and Mark came home and we watched the LSU trouncing of Notre Dame in the Sugar Bowl. I liked the LSU quarterback JaMarcus Russell. I've never seen such a big quarterback in my life. And he throws these huge passes so effortlessly. I will look forward to seeing him in the NFL.

Talked to my high school friend Bry that lives here last night. No, he left me a message. I need to call him this morning. His parents were in a car accident on ice and his Dad is having surgery tomorrow and his mother broke her toes, but the car that hit them had two passengers and one died and one is seriously injured. The others didn't have their seat belts on. Very sad!

Talked to my Mom a little last night. She's pretty talk-y and scattered, but watching football and enjoying that. She may start to get more lonely after Monday night's big bowl. My sister and I are planning Dad's birthday and other upcoming weekends and what we'll do to help us all through it. I cried and cried yesterday while writing my thank yous. I also wrote sympathy/thank yous to my sister and to Mom and sent Christmas pictures and that really set me off.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland