Wednesday, Jan. 03, 2007 10:37 am

Mark gets a computer

I'm still putting off the thank you note writing. I swear I'll get to it. Swear.

Work was better yesterday than it was last week when no one was there. Only minor annoyances and grievances. Or maybe that was because I did take a 'nerve pill' before I went to work? I think that I did and I'm sure that smoothed things out. The boss irritates me. I was heading into my office when I see him halfway down the hangar going into his office. I wave. He waves. Okay, I'm selfish and petty, but I think a good boss would come down and see me at some point. The man hasn't laid eyes on me since before Daddy died and he should come offer some sympathy in person. I did send my email to everyone thanking everyone for ALL of their hugs and cards and calls... which was about 3. My dig. My pettiness.

I ordered our Christmas card pictures yesterday and picked them up last night, but I haven't done anything with them either. My whole evening got pretty hijacked from plans. Mark bought a new laptop. Amazing how much work goes in to setting up a new computer. I helped and helped get his old stuff to the new computer and get the programs he needed. I tried to watch the new FX show Dirt, which looked very good and clever, but the interruptions made me stop it and go to news so that I wouldn't lose my place. I will want to watch it with him anyway. I did my best to not worry about the cost of this computer and how paying for it will impact paying for everything else. The times are going to get better. January is already looking better than December (couldn't be much worse).

I had a good show yesterday and I tried hard to have a good show. Still not the full complement of callers, people haven't gotten back into their old habits, but better. People amuse me with their "jump to an answer" style on LLAA. My question involved Tex Ritter, a UT student and Oscar winner. Those were two of the "clues." So what answer do people call with? Hank Williams? From Texas? From UT? Oscar? They all only heard me say "Many of the people my age know his son better than him."

Man, my eyes are itching like crazy this morning and I'm sneezing. It is supposed to rain HARD today so maybe that will wash out the cedar in the air again.

My sister wrote about her time at my mom's. She said Mom did start to cry talking about the things Daddy is going to miss. She said she was thinking about great-grandchildren and weddings and then realized that Daddy will miss my younger nephew's graduation in May. She said that just about killed her. Poor thing. I had thought of that practically the first day and it made me so sad, too. Not just for Daddy, but for C, who, being the younger, always seems to miss out on things. And he is always so understanding about it all. Sweet child. Poor Mom. Poor Us. It really is such a weird feeling to have the whole dynamic of our family change. It has ALWAYS been the four of us, even when husbands and sons came into the picture. I guess it is one of those things you just don't comprehend until it changes.

Okay. More coffee (I haven't quite started on my cutting back with the New Year like I promised myself) and thank yous. Or maybe I'll do one of the other 80 things on my list.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland