Tuesday, Jan. 03, 2006 1:29 am

Live Music for the New Year

Just got in from the east side. Weird... tonight was the bass player's birthday. That part wasn't weird. He said that he had stumbled upon my journal by searching for the club's name. I could have sworn that I've never used the club's name here. So I search for it myself and I cannot make the search engine find my journal, so there is no way I can eliminate it and stymie him in his next search. So, P, I hope you don't get all hooked up in reading about my life. It is really boring. Really. How much do you want to read about how tired I am, how hard I work, and what books I am reading?

Not that there is anything here that I couldn't let anyone read, but it is weird when someone finds it. Makes me wonder what I have written. Anyone needs to realize that they are reading minute details of a life day-to-day... not the big picture, I suppose. My mother never would write in her daily diary if she was mad at Daddy because she didn't want to die and have him read that and feel guilty when it surely had passed by without another thought. I don't feel quite that adamant about glossing over the facts, so sometimes when I am hurt or lonely, it is in here, but that is life. I am sure that Mark is often hurt or lonely and doesn't tell me about it either.... sometimes that's just the way people live their lives.

So... on to this New Year's Day holiday. I worked, of course. It's radio, there are no holidays. I went in and the place was deserted, which was nice. I worked on a little side project that has been giving me some fits and tried to make it a little easier to manage. It is just two songs that play each day as a feature, but I would like to have a good separation on the artists that play in that feature. I worked on that and then went on the air after the basketball game. Just a short easy shift. No traffic, no contests, just a few talk breaks and I was out of there.

Tonight was a lot of fun at the club. Several of my friends met me there and then I met some new young friends. One girl had a cute boyfriend. I had noticed him earlier because I thought to myself that there was no way this kid was 21. I asked her if he was. No, he was only 20. I was relieved that 21-year-olds weren't just looking very young these days. I personally think it is good that there are bars where a kid with balls can come in and buy a beer. Better than just turning them loose to the world of all drinking at a certain age. I feel certain that this kid was being extra cautious with his intake because he knew he couldn't afford to be caught. He also was dancing a LOT so I am not worried about him.

I started a good book last night "The Bullet Meant for Me" by Jan Reid. He's the Texas Monthly writer that went to Mexico for a boxing match and got shot in a robbery attempt and was almost paralyzed. Very gripping story.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland