Monday, Jan. 31, 2011 7:45 am

Audio issues

I hope I can get back in the habit of writing here as often as I write in my bedside diary. It is such a short list of "what I've done" and this gets a little more in depth and I like that combination. And I'm getting worse about the blog because I want to move it and I'm afraid things will get lost in the move.

It feels cold this morning, but it is 50 and has been warm enough to have the AC on most of the weekend. Very very cold temperatures coming in tomorrow through the rest of the week and I'm not looking forward to it. Maybe I should get gloves today.

My sister was here for the weekend and it was a really good visit. She had a seminar all day Saturday and that was nice, too. Not that I need to entertain her, but it gave me the day to work on my audio stuff.

And work I did. Lord, I'm sick of trying to figure this stuff out. I worked probably 8 hours on the computer and with the audio equipment trying to get this new thing from Guitar Center to work right with the software. It would not. Finally FINALLY figured out that it would only record when in stereo and only in one channel. That worked and I got a spot recorded like I needed to, but that is not "right" so I'm going back to Guitar Center to get that $100 back and try something else. So frustrating. I can't believe how many tiny little settings there are on the audio software (both in it and within Windows FOR it) and on the equipment itself that can make it not function (or don't seem to do anything, but you still have to experiment with them all). I like finding some success, but I do not like the long process and then forgetting what I did to make it work this time.

I did get the office on the path to cleaner though. When I finally solved that problem, I could see that my old computer is of no use to me so I pulled the monitor and computer and their accompanying cables out to be gotten rid of. I put a power strip up on the wall where I can get to it and I organized under the desk a lot better (though there are still so many cords!). I did all that and typed one report and everything seems to be working better.

Most of what I "need" beyond the computer and the lamps (like all the papers) are still scattered around the room and need to be reincorporated back to the desk and I hope to be able to do some of that tonight.

Mark had lots of work and gigs this weekend so I didn't see a lot of him, but he was able to go to lunch with us yesterday at Serrano's before my sister shut her hand in the car door (ow!) and went home. He does not have to go to Dallas after all so he will be home this week. I am still planning on going up this weekend for the Superbowl.

This morning my alarm had gone off so I was half awake and I heard a thump/thud somewhere. Little Bit was at the foot of the bed, so I knew he didn't cause it (as usual). I got up to check and found Mark's cymbal case on the floor instead of uprights with Willie beside it. Glad he wasn't crushed!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland