Monday, Jan. 31, 2005 10:23 pm

Cold Monday

This cold weather has made me only want to hibernate. I am ready for it to move on away again and give us some sunshine and spring weather and more things blooming! I got out and walked my 30 minutes this morning, but it sure isn't the same when the rain is coming down and the north wind is whipping through my clothes.

I didn't write last night about the GWE awards I had to go to yesterday. I guess this was my third year to go to these things and it is such a drag. It is a much-too-long day of music and then the awards seem so good-ol'-boy network that there just isn't that much credibility to the whole thing. Yesterday I did my show from there. None of the big names got there until much later in the evening so I didn't have any high quality interviews on the air. I took about a gallon of hot tea made with honey and lemon and sipped it all afternoon and tried to not yell on the mic, even though it felt like I needed to because I couldn't hear myself. I was fading bad by 7 pm. I made a list as I went and I had 50 people come over to say hello and chat with me. Most of them were people I knew, a few listeners and such came by too. Amazing how many people, though, want to continue a conversation even when I've told them my voice level is low and I can't talk to them. One female artist, who shall remain nameless but her pigtails and belt buckle often give her away, about drove me nuts with conversation even though I was only nodding and not talking. It was bad enough she kept talking when I couldn't talk, but she was talking during the one band that I really wanted to see.

I was glad to get out of there and come home to a warm house and find Mark had just come home from Dallas. We lit the fire and I made dumplings and we watched TV and went to bed early. The weekend sure was short.

Today I just feel completely unenergetic. Not necessarily sleepy or lethargic, just incapable of anything that requires effort. I hope this, too, shall pass.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland