Saturday, Jan. 31, 2004 7:48 am

Ego on Steroids

Really weird to wake up this morning without Mark in bed with me. I spaced for just a minute, thinking he had already gotten up, then realized he left town last night. Sure threw me. I'll get more used to it over the next two nights. I used to be quite used to it when he traveled regularly. I could get used to it again, I'm sure. There's lots of things I enjoy when he is gone: I can wake up to the radio and then keep it on while I'm getting ready (of course, I don't do that much even when he's here and up while I'm getting ready), I can get ready at the pace I need to if I must get out of the house fast, for instance... And I'm sure there are other things. I like being alone. I'm really competent alone. One thing I also like about alone is that I do a lot of things and different rates. Mark starts a project and doesn't lose his focus until that project is completed. It's a nice quality that I don't have. Projects of mine can get started and then languish sometimes. But I enjoy that process. If I were staying home this weekend I might start a little painting project in the guest bathroom that I know will take me a few days. . .because of that pace. I won't since I'm leaving town myself.

I don't want to talk a lot about work matters here, but I'm going to begin to try to develop that elephant-size ego that appears to be what radio requires and expects (and co-workers abhor). I've been the "nice" one at work for long enough. I keep getting passed over on some of the nice perqs that come along, even when I ask directly to be a part of them. One tiny example is a great new shirt we had designed. Seems like everyone in the building (our station employees and other's too) has one of these cool shirts. I asked and asked for a shirt of this style. After weeks of being ignored, I finally did what we're not supposed to do: I walked into the prize room and took one. It is an XL and looks like a tent. I'm just going to have to start making my desires absolutely, abundantly, clear and not accepting no for an answer. And I'm going to have to let it be clear that I expect better treatment.

I'm up early for work, so I'd better get on the road. I was a little late last week since I had to go so far north and I'm going even further north today.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland