Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2004 11:25 am

A return to the keyboard

One little glitch and losing an entry last week sent me into a tailspin of no entries. How does that happen? Well, I'm back.

I have felt swamped at work this week with no good reason. I'm working on a special project (or four) and I can't even seem to get to them because of the everday things that fill so much time and exhuast me.

To backtrack on the entries. I did go to see Chris Knight at Antone's last Thursday night and it was a good show. There were lots of musicians there that think he is the greatest songwriter ever. They oversold him to me so I didn't come away with that opinion although I didn't dislike him. I enjoyed being with my friend and visiting. We hadn't had a good visit in a couple of months.

Friday we went to visit a client that has begun advertising. It is a client that part of our morning team does not want to advertise for for a variety of reasons (some of which I think he has a point). He still was "forced" to go visit with the client and he was raising Cain the whole way up and back (and while there WITH the client some) about his dismay over the situation. Nothing like hearing a 70-year-old man say "fuck" 20 times in a thirty minute car ride. Uncomfortable to say the least. With his history of heart trouble I thought he would have an attack. He didn't. We survived.

I worked Saturday and then B! and I saw the movie Lost In Translation. The Academy Award nominations came out yesteday and it is the only movie on the whole long list that I've seen. It is an excellent movie. I really liked its slow pace. It made me claustrophobic and made me want to GET OUT OF JAPAN, so I was quite relieved to leave the theater. The sound was pretty goofy at the Westgate so I missed Bill Murray's last line of dialogue to Charlotte. I don't know if I was supposed to hear it or not, but I suspect I was. If you heard it and know what he said, let me know. I still got the gist of the movie, but it is a drag to lose a piece.

After the movie we went to the Spoke for just a bit. I think I enjoy going to clubs by myself more than with someone. I always feel responsible for the time they are having and worry that they are bored. And worry that they aren't hearing or doing what they should hear or do to have a good time.

Poor Nate--- Since he insists on jumping on the keyboard and deleting my entries, I have closed the office door and he is in the hall doing his best to scratch his way through it.

I also visited my little grandmother Saturday. She is just a skeleton in a bed. It was frightening and so sad. She has more of her mind than most people that age but the caregivers don't take extra care with her, apparently, and a shower becomes a hellish, humiliating experience. I know they give care, but they just don't see her as the human that she is, I'm afraid, but what do you do? I don't think she even had any pleasure from my visit. Depressing.

Sunday I went to the lame GWE awards at Midnight Rodeo. Long and boring and so "insiderish". I was working so it was tolerable. If I had just been there listening I would have enjoyed some of it, but even the music and the singer/songwriter circle got old, despite it being some of my favorite musicians. The hostess is a friend of mine, but she is not professional when it comes to being on a stage, nor was her partner/boyfriend. We did win their award for Station of the Year, but I really don't know how much of an honor that is.

I began a diet on Sunday and I've got Mark on it with me. It's the good ol' Atkins diet that everyone is so into now. I did it 20 years ago along with my morning show partner and we both did really well on it, so I hope I can have some of that success again. Mark is backsliding on daily basis so I don't know how well he'll do, but at least he isn't expecting me to make pasta or sandwiches at home for him. If he is going to backslide, he'll have to do it out on his own.

Last night I went to my accordion teacher's gig at the Spoke. Too cold in the room (physically), but fun to see her play. The band was sort of a thrown-together group so not thinking on the same lines all the time, but I'm glad I went to see her. They have an accordion gathering before the show but I didn't make it to that. I would like to be able to see more players up close where I can watch what they are doing. I came home and practiced. I have slacked off the last few days and that instrument gets very heavy if you haven't lifted it in a while.

Okay, I'm caught up, if not very creative about it. Feels good to write and I will get back in the habit.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland