Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2006 11:30 am

Car sale

I admit it, I am addicted to the computer. Not really addicted to the internet, just addicted to sitting here at the computer doing SOMETHING, ANYTHING. I must email, check sites, scan pics, write. It's weird. I need to get out and go for a walk and see the world.

We did get the ratings yesterday and I am in for a nice bonus, which is well deserved and much needed! We were number one not only 12+ but also with the much desired 25-54 year olds, the first time we've achieved that ever. I was #2 in my daypart, both 12+ and 25-54, which is the highest I've been. This last month of the book must have been pretty incredible, because I know November wasn't so great. I got lots of congrats and thanks from the boss, which was nice. Very nice. He says we will have a party, which I will have to see to believe. He's said that before. I hound him about the bonuses, but I don't care if we have the party or not, but it would be nice. I think Katrina aftermath stopped us from having one last time. So we had two #1 books in one year. That's pretty solid stuff.

And we sold the car, too! That was a great relief to have that money in the bank. I will miss that sweet old car. We had some really nice experiences with it. I will especially remember the boys being fascinated by the fact that it didn't have seatbelts. We told them that it was legal since it was manufactured before they were required. As we drove down Josey in Dallas, the boys were practically hanging out the windows shouting "We're not wearing any seatbelts!" They were so cute. I also remember, sadly, Christmas Eve in those early years, maybe our first married Christmas. We visitied Mark's Mom and then were heading in the Olds up to my parents to spend the night. We stopped by Mark's old house to see his roommate. He was there with Mark's ex (my first time to meet her) and another guy and they were drinking whiskey and smoking cigarettes on Christmas Eve. It just seemed so sad. He is the one that died a couple of years ago, so it makes me sad in many ways to think about that night. He didn't have a really happy life.

I hope my dad isn't too unhappy about the sale of the car. I told him about it and even told him how much money we got for it. I know it isn't required to tell him, but I know he wanted to know. I also know he thinks that we could have gotten more money for it. He always underestimates mechanical costs and overestimates how much you can get for selling something. I'm just glad we had the money to meet the bills. It is pretty grim right now.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland