2000-01-26 01:04:15

First Adderol day

I just got in from work and I'm tired. I got the same amount of work done in nine hours today that I got done in less than four hours one day last week. Hmmmm....think the dosage of Adderol was low? I think so, I'm upping that sucker tomorrow. I want to feel it!!! Did the appetite suppressant part work? Let's see, hotdog, Wendy's, biggie fries, tostitos. Maybe it did! No scalloped potatoes tonight.

I did WANT to eat a good dinner tonight and I walked over to the new restaurant downtown called Gumbo's. Very nice place and it looked like people were having a good time. When I saw the valet parking I worried. So I asked for a menu before I let them seat me and it was a little more spendy than I want to pay for a quick meal in the middle of a work night. Even just a bowl of gumbo was 5.95 and I didn't want to spend that kind of money. I had waited too late to get out and get something to eat so there wasn't much open. Even Texpresso had closed down and I know they used to stay open later. I ended up at Wendy's...yuck. My least favorite fast food.

I think I've had a thing against Wendy's since my first experience at a Wendy's in Odessa, Texas, in about 1976. A busload of us went to Odessa to compete in UIL competition. Kids, this was back in the old days of UIL when there were the ancient categories like "slide-rule" and "headline writing." I'm sure those two do not exsist anymore. Who counts pica points on a headline anymore? A computer does it for you. I digress. Now I digress some more. I was there competing in the editorial and fiction writing competition. I don't remember the editorial writing at all so I guess I didn't do very well in it. In the feature writing I got third place so I didn't go on to state from there but I got a trophy and I thought that was as cool as going on to state.

A group of us were hungry and we went to Wendy's. We didn't have any of those hi-falutin' kind of restaurants in Canyon. I thought the fact that they charged a whole dime to add a tomato to your hamburger was just highway robbery. Everyone knows that every good hamburger has a tomato on it and you shouldn't be charged extra for it! They don't do that anymore so I guess we finally taught that Yankee a lesson. Their meat isn't square anymore is it? It used to be a point of pride that their meat was square but I think they got over that too.

Wendy's. Good Lord, how did I get off on Wendy's?

I meant to go to the gym this morning and then after getting a late start on the day and getting into the e-mail and some show prep and then I remembered I had an eye appointment that killed that gym idea.

I got my eyes examined by my new Austin eye doctor. I chose a woman and I liked her a lot. She is South African and had a wonderful English/Afrikaaner (sp?) accent. I liked her and all the people working there so much that I got new contacts and new glasses and even prescription sunshades! I want to wear glasses more. I told them I wanted glasses that made people think I was wearing them for fashion only and not because I am so extraordinarily blind. Got some cool oval black wire ones. Kind of dramatic. The shades are oval tortoise shell. Way retro. My own glasses prescription was still the right strength but now they seem so dated to me. I haven't worn them in public in a long while anyway. I'll keep them around as my nighttime, sit-on-the-couch before bedtime glasses.

I'm going to go to bed. I'm reading a good book: "Mississippi Mud" by Edward Hume. It's a true crime book about Biloxi. I picked it up at a paper sale a few months ago since it was about Biloxi. I'm on the air there but I don't know a thing about the city. Reading this book I don't ever want to know about that city!!! Corruption, drugs, murder, they've got it all. It's a well-written engrossing book.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland