Monday, Jan. 23, 2006 10:34 am

Boring description of the weekend

I don't know why I've suddenly gotten so bad at updating this journal. I need to get back to the habit of daily updates.

It was a good weekend, especially because it rained.

I wanted to go back to Luckenbach Friday night, but I knew I couldn't. I was still dead tired at the end of the workday and by the time I got through with the things I had to do to have the station run smoothly through the weekend it was past 7:30. I couldn't have been out to Luckenbach until past nine and that was just too late for a short stay. I knew I would really be dead tired on the drive home and that just won't work. So I came home instead and watched TV and must have done something on the computer and went to bed.

Mark ended up playing in Houston Friday night. He also expected to have a long day catching up on work at the Lab, but a drummer friend was sick and they couldn't find any other decent replacement, so he did the nice thing and went and filled in for Sean's band.

I had to be up early Saturday morning for a remote. As conked out as I was when the alarm went off (and Mark had to punch me to get me to wake up and shut it off) I was very glad that I hadn't gone to Luckenbach. I got up and out quickly and got the remote over with. It was not too big of a deal. We had breakfast tacos, which are kind of messy to serve, and they were very popular, especially with the kids. I was very glad when it was over and I went home.

Mark was gone to work for the day. I did some TV watching, computing, and laundry and then I was back to bed for hours and hours, it seemed. Mark came home in there somewhere and got ready and left for his gig. He worked so hard all weekend while I slept away the days!

Saturday night I did decide I needed to get out of the house and see if anything was going on. I went to the cafe and heard a new band that was alright. Didn't know anyone there except the bartender and waitresses. Moved on to the Spoke for the Derailers, but it was packed wall to wall and seemed just crazy so I moved on from there, too. Went to Midnight Rodeo, but it was too early for the headliner (Cooder) so I watched some of Josh Owen. He was okay, but again I didn't know anyone and decided I would rather be at home, so that's where I went. An exciting night out on the town whooping it up.

Yesterday, Sunday, I slept super late. Mark was up and out early for a Lab gig so I just stayed unconscious until almost noon. Finally got up and got out for a movie. I saw The Squid and the Whale. Sad movie. Everyone with kids contemplating divorce needs to see it. I'm very appreciative that my parents didn't have problems and didn't get divorced and take us all through that.

Picked up Mark's prescriptions (yikes, charged them, we are so broke) and then got groceries (just a little). Came home and made chili and watched football playoffs. Boring. Denver got beat so I'll root for Seattle in the Superbowl if I watch it. I just don't care.

Mark was out all day and night yesterday so I was pretty bored. I did make fudge and experimented with some new combinations--caramel, peanut butter chips, etc.

Is this like the most boring entry ever? I will have to think of something creative to write next time. Maybe this is why I haven't been writing, there is nothing interesting to put in here.

And I did finish the book Something Blue by Giffin Saturday so I can take it back tonight. It was good. Sweet chick lit book.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland