Thursday, Jan. 22, 2004 9:59 am

Up Early for A Long Day

All week long I have been waking up late and waking up so groggy that my morning at home is almost pointless. I might as well be getting dressed in my zombie state and driving to work along with the masses at 7:30. I really have wanted to wake up alert and refreshed early in the morning, but you can't make that just happen, no matter how much you try to go to bed at a reasonable hour.

This morning I was wide awake before 8 a.m. It's what I've been wanting, but today was the worst day to feel this way. I'm going to Antone's tonight and seeing music and staying out way late, and it is going to make for a very long day. Chris Knight is in town and playing tonight and I've heard so many good things about him I'm going to check it out for myself.

I went to the cafe last night and joined up with old friends from the Wednesday night series for music. Sensory overload. I really like to go into a bar and just "be" for a bit and acclimate myself. Last night I found the friends and was assaulted with too many helloes and how-are-yous and what-are-you-drinking from them and the stage and all around and the music and the noise was overwhelming until they all calmed down a bit.

I feel sorry for musicians. I don't know how they play in a bar where people are talking and shouting all around them. Especially when there is no more than 15 people there and those right in front of you (us) were the loudest in the place. I tend to get quieter and quieter as my companions get drunker and louder.

Sometimes creepy photographer was among the group and, as much as I like him, he gets on my nerves so. He has changed his appearance dramatically in the last six months. I told him to get rid of the mustache or grow a goatee, so he grew a goatee which helped his looks tremendously. He now has gotten contacts and has lost 16 pounds, too. He looks great, very different. Makes me wonder how long that marriage is going to last now. He seems like a guy more interested in conquests than long-term commitment and I see lots of evidence of him going in new directions. His wife is more than 10 years younger than him and beautiful, but I think he's "been there" and is on the prowl. It's creepy.... thus, his name.

I think he will be going to Antone's tonight, too. He apparently is a big fan of this guy so he's planning on going. I'm going with a friend who will fortunately be there so that SCP isn't out alone with me. I can take care of myself, but I don't want SCP to be out alone with me. Makes him thing there is more to it than there is.

I've been up these last two hours with plenty of time to do the things I have put off all week while in my groggy state and what have I accomplished? Some e-mail and a little bit of station work. Cleaning? Nope. Laundry? Nope. Baking, cooking, taking care of my family? Nope. Playing the accordion? Nope (there are still sleeping people here).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland