Friday, Jan. 02, 2004 8:38 am

A No Pea New Year

I am entering that state of dread I always have before a trip. Vague hope in the back of my head of something that will occur, last minute, to prevent the trip and let me stay home, safe in my cocoon for another week.

We leave in the morning for Colorado. I don't know how much I'll be able to report in while we're there, but I will certainly be keeping track of the experience to report later. I'm sure most reports will begin with "It is so freakin' COLD here!" I can't remember the last time I was in a place where there was snow constantly and freezing temperatures every single day! Well, I guess that would have been Amarillo 1982-- the very reason I live in Austin today.

I just checked the Austin temperature-- 65 at 8:30 and going up to 77 this afternoon on January SECOND!! In Steamboat it is freezing, snowing, and the high on Monday, our first day there will be 13, I think. I have no clue how you dress for 13 degrees. I'm taking extra blankets. I can always just stay in the room for five days.

See? That dread instead of a sense of adventure. I wonder what happened to me? I will miss the cats dreadfully. That is a sad thing to admit to the world, but these cats are the greatest things. They are always so ready to be right beside me. In fact, little Willie is curled up on the futon behind me quietly letting me do my thing while he catnaps (literally!). We have a housesitter for the week so that the cats and dogs aren't alone and someone can really keep an eye on Nathan so he doesn't go on a week long adventure or allow strange cats to come into the house like happened when we went to Hawaii. We'll also be able to call 8 times a day to see if the cats miss us too much. Our housesitter doesn't know quite how attached we are, I'm sure.

Oh? New Years? Yes, we started a new year didn't we? I thought about doing that daily entry late last night and thought, Holidailies are over...screw it, I'm taking the day off. I also had nothing to report. It was a noontime of high anxiety as we waited for the housesitter to come by to get acquainted with Mark and the cats. He was supposed to arrive at noonish and after several phone calls and much irritation he was here at almost two. Mark missed his precious buffet at Pizza Hut and I was sugar depleted myself and began 2004 like I ended 2003 by taking a Xanax. He made it, Mark loved him, all is well. I dashed off to work and managed to record SIX shows for San Antonio while I slept through my one live show in Austin.

Bought all the necessary cat and dog food for the next 10 days and bought the subject of my cravings this week: CHOCOLATE. Got home and ended up wrapped up watching nothing on TV for a few hours before dragging myself to bed.

And no black-eyed peas. How long has it been since I didn't have black-eyed peas on New Year's Day? I know I've done it in the past, but I don't recall how that year went afterward. I'm sure I survived it. If I start having a rotten year, remind me about the peas.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland