Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2004 10:53 am

An ADHD Morning

I determined, just within the last year, that I am not ADHD, as was diagnosed by a psychiatrist a few years ago (and a licensed something before that). I determined that, yes, I am scattered and running in many different directions each moment, but the feeling that bothers me and "drives me to distraction" (maybe that is where that expression came from) is anxiety, not ADD. When there is too much to do and I don't know how I'm going to do it all since it all needs to be done AT ONCE, I get frantic and anxious and teary-eyed. 9iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii6666666666666666666666666666666666666667

(that was Nathan "helping") That feeling has been greatly diminished by Chinese herbs, being happier, having fewer deadlines, etc. Having said all that, I'm sure feeling ADHD this morning, and not so much in the anxious way. Just lots of things I would like to do, but with work looming, I don't have the time.

I would really like to go up and have lunch with my old office folks where I did medical transcription (if I could have a parallel life, I would still be working there. Great job, great people, great sense of accomplishment.). No time to do that today, but the time I could get dressed and get up there, blah blah, and I want to stay home and write this and drink my coffee. I see my new box set of Roger Miller CDs and I want to put it on and listen quietly for an hour or two. And I need to practice the accordion. I haven't touched it in two days and I will get rusty and forget what her assignments were that she wrote down and seemed so clear on lesson day. And I want to read the paper and see what the president said last night. And I need to clean the kitchen, and eat fruit, and feed the dogs, and turn off their water. And call a plumber. The hose that we use to water the dogs is leaking and I just put it into their dog water bowl yesterday, but I can see it is leaking too much and the bowl is overflowing so that won't work. Mark could fix it, but he is as busy and ADHD as I am.

Had a great session of music with the boss yesterday. We have a reputation of being very slow to add music. If a new local artist has a record we are never going to be among the first to play it. We are very cautious and we see if they are getting some attention and playing in the area, etc. Yesterday I played a new song by a Texas artist (I think he is from Houston) and we went on it immediately. I wasn't even campaigning for that, I just wanted him to be aware of it because I wanted to play it in the future. He liked it enough that we went with it immediately.

I ordered a new paper and pen journal from the Georgia O'Keeffe museum in Santa Fe (she's one of my heroes). Got it yesterday and it doesn't really have the room I need to write, but I'll try to use it. I'm afraid this will be one of those years where I'll have diaries all over the place, but at the end of the year I won't be able to look up anything from my year.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland