Friday, Jan. 20, 2006 11:30 am

Luckenbach

I am one whupped puppy this morning. Very tired from an exciting night out in Luckenbach. My friend that runs the place out there had asked me to emcee a show they were having tonight. I felt like I owed it to him since Luckenbach had contributed a LOT toward my Race for the Cure in November. And it sounded like it would be fun. The downside, of course, was the drive out and then especially the drive back in the dark, late, with deer running rampant, after drinking. But I accepted and then I somehow got Mark to go, too. His reluctance was mainly that he had a lot of work to finish, but also he thought it was going to be new young artists. When he found out that his friend Bobby from Dallas, and Tommy A. and Gary P. would be there, he was more willing. So he picked me up at work and we got out there as fast as we could last night.

It was really a fun Luckenbach night. I've had so many wonderful experiences there and sometimes I worry that the place is getting too commercial, but it was great last evening. They decided to re-record the songs of the album Viva Terlingua, which was a turning-point album for me, with different artists. In the past few years I have had Gary P sign my original album that I bought in about 1976 I think (it was recorded in 1973). Then a year or so ago my co-worker Cotton got Jerry Jeff to sign it for me, too. I have met JJ, but I haven't had the record with me when I've met him. Last night I got Craig Hillis and Bob Livingston to also sign it.

The Lost Gonzo Band performed and did Gettin By' and also Gonzo Compadres. I think they have an agreement that they only perform as the Lost Gonzo Band when Bob, Gary P, and John Inmon are there. All were, so they could use that moniker. Freddie Krc played drums and Bobby Rambo was there, also members of various Jerry Jeff bands.

I missed Walt Wilkins doing Little Bird. He is also a producer on this. Tommy Alverson a song (that totally slips my mind now). Kent Finlay did a poem. Morrison-Williams did What I Like About Texas (I know, I know, that wasn't on Viva Terlingua), Two Tons did Sangria Wine, and Derailers did London Homesick Blues. The music was great, but I really enjoyed the conversations backstage and meeting people I'd never met before.

I met Guich Koock, too, who used to own Luckenbach with Hondo. I knew I knew of him from that era and I met him (I recognized him and introduced myself) and said "You were on a TV show." He said, no, no TV. We talked more and I said, "But you were an actor." He said, no, just an 'inferior desecrator.' Later, Neal tells me that, yes, Guich was on a TV show with Suzanne Somers as a deputy. THAT'S what I remember. I will have to google it and find it, but I knew I had him in my mind in a sitcom situation. I'm glad I'm not going completely nuts yet.

Some of the nicest fun was afterwards when we were just hanging around telling stories and Bob Livingston and Michael Hearne were singing old Michael Murphey songs like Cosmic Cowboy. The place had mostly cleared out, the weather was perfect, and it was a quiet way to end a night. We had a long drive home, but it was worth it (and I was so glad Mark was driving).

And this was wild... When we got back to where my car was at my office, we saw two foxes in the parking lot. And I mean literal furry, big tailed, sharp nosed foxes! I don't know that I have ever seen a real fox in my life! And here they are living their life in South Austin!

I hope I can take it pretty easy at work today. I am toying with the idea of going back out there tonight, but I don't know if I have the energy. I would love to BE there, but the driving back and forth and then having to get up early tomorrow doesn't sound as fun. I guess I will decide about seven o'clock tonight.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland