Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2006 10:09 am

Idol Begins

I had a weird day yesterday. Not high anxiety or stress, but that little niggling anxiety that I don't quite know how to deal with. It was just there most of the day, making me feel like there was something I wasn't doing or something that had slipped by, or things I needed to be taking care of. It was the feeling that I used to think was ADD and then finally realized that it is just anxiety and my attention is dispersed because I don't quite know what it is that I'm supposed to be doing so I'm doing everything. I hope I'm past it today.

Watched the first of American Idol last night. It was so fun. My friend's brother will be in the Austin auditions and he is such a cute young boy that I'm really looking forward to seeing him advance through this process. I hope he goes really far.

Got my W2 form yesterday and that always adds to my anxiety. I made a LOT less in 05 than I did in 04 (and 03). But I plugged just these few numbers into TurboTax last night and it showed I would get a refund. I don't think that Mark could have made enough money to really screw up that refund too bad since it also didn't include anything we have for deductions (which may not be enough to be more than the standard deduction, I don't know). Last year we scrambled to find cash to deposit into an IRA in order to not send it to the government instead. I hope we don't have to do that this year because I don't know if we could scrape up that kind of money this time. But, we did get smart and got it set up to contribute to an IRA through the rest of the year automatically, so that is a few hundred dollars already safely socked away. Good for us!

I'm going up to the coffeeshop today to meet with a guitar player about an opportunity he has been presented. I don't know him well at all, but it is a radio opportunity so he is coming to me for advice. I'm flattered. And I'll admit that I am being nice to him partly because of who he plays for. It's one of the big guns in Texas country music. Sure, I know him and he knows me, but we aren't (and never will be) friends. I'm just buddying up to be closer to his limelight. I know, that's just weird.

I finished the book Something Borrowed by Giffin last night. It came highly recommended by a friend that is in her early 20s. I think that may have made the difference. She thought it was hilarious. I enjoyed the book, but didn't see that it was funny. I certainly was caught up in the story, but really didn't like the way it ended. I can see bad things ahead for these characters! There is a follow up book, Something Blue, that I just started. We'll see if these characters get what I think is coming to them! (I don't think they will...this is fiction!)

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland