January 19, 2002 12:37 am

Finally Friday

This week has felt like I've been tripping and falling down a very padded staircase. I'm not hurt and I survived but it certainly wasn't a graceful week and I don't think much was done very carefully. I'm glad the weekend is here and after three hours up at work tonight I got enough finished that I won't have to go back. Hooray.

So cold and damp today I made a batch of gumbo. I've never made gumbo before and Mark had a Cajun grandmother so there is lots to live up to. It was okay but it wasn't as good as his grandmother's must have been from his descriptions and it wasn't as good as his mother's and it wasn't really what I think of when I think of gumbo either. I'll toss that recipe and see if I can find a better one. It was good as far as soup goes, just not gumbo.

I did a commercial for Time-Warner this morning, just a little tag but still worth driving across town for. I wish they would use me more but it's been eight months that they haven't called me so I am not expecting a sudden barrage of spots, but she did say that there usually will be more work as spring approaches.

I am trying to get my act together to be able to do some commercials for smaller towns' radio stations and e-mail the spots to them. The things that can be done now are amazing. My good friend Steve is doing this and he set me up with my first client. I've already done 10 spots for them but I did them at work and sent them from there. Within the week I want to get my computer set up so they can be done here at home. That will make my life easier and richer and might spur me on to find more clients.

There was a big battle in our studio this morning between two members of our morning show. It was quite a surprise to me, I thought these guys all worked together peacefully all the time but one took offense at another's jokes and let him know. They didn't really fight, they just cleared the air loudly. I stayed out of it. Listeners never know what is going on behind the scenes at a radio station. That's where the really entertaining shit happens.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland