Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006 10:03 am

Long Trip to the East Side

It finally got cold and wet yesterday. Not really cold or really wet, but enough of both to make it feel like January is here . . . finally. I'm afraid there wasn't enough wet to make the fields and barditches less flammable, but it was a start.

Yesterday was pretty uneventful, as work days go. I did stay a bit after work and made sure I had saved the interview with Jack and the interview with Larry and I am going to try to put them on CD today if I have the time. I also did listen to my competitor's interview with Jack and I heard how dismal it was. Weird interview. All style and absolutely no substance. When you've got a great interview like Jack, you just let him talk, but he didn't. He got off on some wild tangent that had nothing to do with Jack. Very strange.

I came home and ate and then headed out to the east side to see the band. With the cold and all, I almost opted out, but figured, no, I would have fun if I got myself out there so I made myself go. I was more than halfway there when Mark called and he'd forgotten an important piece of their monitor equipment. I turned around came home, got frustrated when I didn't quite know which piece he needed and he wasn't answering his phone, got him, got it, loaded it and dashed up that way. I kept telling myself that I didn't need to panic, this wasn't my responsibility or gig, and I didn't need to feel anger toward him because he would do the same for me, obviously, and it wasn't a big deal to go get this. I had anger, but it was just at the situation. So I get there and he has a guy waiting for me to take it in, which was a very nice relief, because the band had begun and I didn't know what he wanted me to do with it. I made myself a drink and tried to settle in, but I still was not getting into the night, so I left during the break. I'm glad I went, but I was happy to be home and in bed relatively early.

And I have about the weirdest aunt in the world. She lives here in town and I do my best to not see her. She is sweet and I love her, but their family is just toxic. It just brings me down to hear about the troubles her daughter has because I remember the sweet, smart little girl she was and hate that she is giving up so much of her life and potential for a coke addict and alcoholic. Anyway, that's not the story. My aunt has begun sending some forwards to the family of just stupid stuff. I hate that. I usually just delete things like that, but I thought I would be nice and make a "connection" and try to respond. So there was one yesterday about how we gain weight because we've gotten so smart our head can't hold all the knowledge and it settles in other places. Ha ha, that is a knee-slapper. So I send a little note back to everyone that got it saying, "I'm glad to know where these hips came from. ha" or somesuch. I even put the requisite "ha" to show that it was a laughing response. I get an apologetic letter from my aunt saying she didn't mean anything by it and she certainly wasn't implying anything and she just thought it was funny and forwarded it on, blah blah blah. Gee, if you don't have a sense of humor, don't email.

I did get my purse cleaned out yesterday and at least moved the stuff I really need to another purse for the time being. That counts. Today I will go to the post office and get my mother-in-law's birthday gift into the mail and get some stamps.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland