Saturday, Jan. 14, 2006 11:58 am

Nighttime Magic, etc.

This week (month/year/life) has just flown by. And this morning has gone more quickly than I would like. I have lots to accomplish today. I haven't gotten around much to my resolution of having my three To Do items written down yet... Seems like I don't have time to prioritize!

Yesterday was a great day. I had Larry Gatlin on my show. I have heard he is not an easy interview or easy to work with. There had been some difficulties already with how much time he could spend, etc. Then I got to work yesterday and the PR person had called, frustrated, to say that he would not be able to make it and wanted to do it on the phone instead. But then there was soon another call from her on the machine saying that he would, after all, make it. And he did. And he spent a full hour with me. I think he just had it in his mind that it wouldn't be fun and was trying to get out of it. Once he got there and I allowed him to play anything he wanted by his good friends Johnny, Kris, Roger, and Willie, plus his heroes, the Statesman Quartet and the Blackwood Brothers, he had a good time and it was a good interview. He was funny and had some good stories.

And he did a great show last night, too. My first "date" had to cancel because she had to stay home and keep a baby, so my young intern friend went with me. I was glad he was in town and could go. We had a good time. He didn't know the Gatlin music as well as I do (since he wasn't born when most of it was made!), but he recognized a lot and enjoyed even the ones he hadn't heard. Larry is quite a performer (with 50 years of experience) and entertainer. It was just him and a guitar player and his voice was wonderful. The 0ne Wrld Theater is a great place to see a show, too. Very intimate. I would love to see more shows there. George Winston will be there next month and that one would be good. Have I told you my George Winston story? I'm sure I have. It's in these pages somewhere. It happened back in Dallas, before these pages began, but I'm sure I've put it in here.

After the show we went to the Spoke and had a couple of beers. It was fun to catch up with Joey before goes back to the gulf.

Today I'm going to go up north to a Spasmodic Dysphonia support group meeting. I've never met these people. These will be the first people I've met besides Johnny Bush that have this. I have to go to work some today, too. I couldn't get it all done yesterday. Guests on my show throw off the rhythm of the week.

And I got a mammogram yesterday. Good for me! I hope I get a great report next week. I don't mind the squishing part that much, it is just having to get the appointment and go that's hard. I'm glad I got it done for another year.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland