Friday, Jan. 14, 2005 11:59 pm

Shut Up Shut Up Shut Up

Entries I was thinking about writing as I went through my evening:

Why kids shouldn't be allowed out of their homes until they are 25.

Cell phones and why I hate them.

Why I don't want to have to be a grocery clerk (... and it's not what you think)

Grocery stores when I was a kid.

Those ideas will all have to wait. I got home from the grocery and found a message from our best man. He was in town with the girl that he won't claim to be his girlfriend. Mark was at a gig, but they came by to see me. I have met her before... She adopted two of Willie's brothers. I like the woman. But, gracious, she was boring me tonight. I decided she and our best man may be a good couple. She was just as know-it-all and boring as he can be. I love him and, as I've said before, he is a the perfect man for many a woman ON PAPER, but then they have to meet him.

We were discussing my throat problems and she brought up the subject of a health product she promotes. I felt like I was at an Amway meeting. I know she believes wholeheartedly in it and it sounds like a wonderful product, but she went ON and ON AND ON. I wish, sometimes, that I could just look someone in the face and say "SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP" without, like, hurting their feelings? Is that possible. Probably not.

I was afraid they were going to stay long enough to see Mark (which might mean they would be here for another few hours), but they were tired and went on to their hotel. Now I am trying to catch up on the things I needed to do this evening.

I do like company. I don't want company to not drop in. Maybe I should make a list of ground rules that starts with 1.) Don't bore me, and includes somewhere Don't be offended if I say "shut up shut up shut up!"

The biggest drag of my day was getting my paycheck and it being small. I had tried to set my sights low, but it was $300 less than my low sights and, of course, secretly I thought it would be hire than my lowball estimate. I also had not been paid by my east Texas station for voice work so I got brave and put in the collection call to them. They said "the check is in the mail" and it was. It came today, but I hope this will put them on the stick to get their January payment to me in a more timely manner. Yes, when I become a collector I'm a hardass.

I had an accordion lesson this morning that was fun. I really wanted to practice tonight, but it is late and I'm going to go to bed.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland