Saturday, Jan 13, 2007 11:30 p.m.

Ice Storm a Comin'

This has been a good, lazy day. But I'm feeling better, too, and that's a great thing.

We slept really late because it was POURING rain for hours and hours. Austin got about four inches of rain or more. A tornado hit San Marcos. Ice on the way! The weathermen are going nuts.

I watched two GREAT football games today. I hate to write about football games in my journal because, of course, they mean nothing to me within hours or days and certainly mean nothing to me when I look back in future years. But I got to see the Saints and Drew Brees win a playoff game for the first time and go on to the NFC championship next week. And the Colts and Payton Manning, that cutie, finally got a playoff win on the road and will advance. And both of the games were really good and hard fought and back-and-forth and edge-of-my-seat good. It was fun watching them.

I also worked on Christmas cards most of the day. I realize Christmas was weeks ago, but I am slow. My Christmas letter will tell a few people that get it about Daddy's death that otherwise might not know.

I also cooked dumplings for lunch and made a carrot cake. I made chili tonight for tomorrow. It is melding in the fridge now. I got the kitchen cleaned and the laundry done. See? I am feeling much better. I haven't even had a single pill today, only one shot of Afrin.

Mark played tonight and should be home soon. At least it won't be raining on him for the load out. We thought it might be and might be icy, but it isn't that cold yet. I hope they are all wrong and it just gets marginally freezing and not an ice storm. I went back to the store tonight to get onions because I didn't have enough and I was sure glad that I did most of my stocking up last night. There wasn't an individual onion or potato in the store. I was going to get a sack of onions anyway, but that was the only choice. Lots of other things were wiped out, too. But I had my chili fixin's and they are in the pot right now. YUM!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland