Thursday, Jan. 01, 2009 11:59 am

New Year's Day 2009

What a great year it would be if I could remember to write here each and every morning-- first thing!! Maybe I will attempt to do that. No resolution, just a thought.

I did write last night in my new paper/handwritten diary and I would like to keep that up, just for the detail it provides and the easy access and being able to put thing in ALL CAPS so I can see them

Mark played at Lambert's last night with the Moonhangers. I will have to see that band one of these days, but Mark says he is in it only for the money and it isn't that great. They played for a small, typical crowd early, but it was a private party at 1030 until midnight so they had a lot of people (that didn't care whit about them) then. But at least they were playing to people. He could see the downtown fireworks at midnight and said they were spectacular.

I went to see the movie Slumdog Millionaire with Frenchy last night. I had absolutely no idea what kind of movie it was. I certainly wasn't expecting Indian! It was an interesting foreign film about a poor orphan boy and his brother and a girlfriend and how he wins a million dollars on the Indian version of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire. It showed so much poverty and torture and terrible things that I wouldn't call it light entertainment, but it did have a good story and told it well and it all ended well enough. I will read up on it now. It is supposed to be up for all sorts of awards so I may be happy I saw it when the Academy Awards roll around.

Yesterday I made my list of three things to get done and I was so happy to get those three accomplished. I vacuumed and got all the Christmas put away and changed the sheets. I also worked for the doctor all afternoon, so getting those things done alongside that was a big accomplishment. I am especially happy the living room is clean. I did get the kitchen clean last night, too, so that was on my second three. Hooray for me.

Today our plan is to go to Wimberly to a friend's house and just hang out for the day. Mark's aunt will be there and some people she knows and one guy, at least, that Mark knows. I hope it is fun. It is supposed to be very low key and we'll be able to leave if we get bored. Or nap if we get tired, which is a nice plus at a New Year's Day party! I don't think there is any football that I really need to watch today.

I start this year, as I have so many, with allergies or sinusitis or something still plaguing me. I was awake a while this morning when my nose was too stuffed up to breathe. I would lay different ways and different nasal passages would open up and then I finally just did Afrin and it all opened up and I went back to sleep for a long time. My throat is a little sore and it sounds like laryngitis may be coming on, but not really. Not that REAL catch that I KNOW means it is on the way out.

My cousin Amy wrote that she wanted to draw closer to the ones she loved for this New Year. I thought about that and wondered if that was a resolution I needed to make. Upon some consideration I decided, nope, I'm drawing BACK this year. Too much togetherness has certainly not worked out well in the past 12 to 24 months!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland