Sunday, Jan. 11, 2004 10:02 pm

Back from Steamboat

I'm back from Steamboat and I feel like I need to tell you all about it, but don't really know where to begin. Maybe with the slow internet connection. We set up a web connection (I use the term "we" incredibly loosely.... my engineer did it all) in our condo. It was dial-up and we were connecting at 16 and 20 kbs and going crazy with the slowness! There was a fast connection in the offices of the condos, but I usually found a college kid there answering their hotmail and when I could get on I was wading through lots of emails and didn't have the time to cogitate and put in an entry. The reports I did each night to send back to the station took us a couple of hours to produce each night and then even longer to get emailed to the station.

I am a complainer, I guess. I never felt great while we were in Colorado. I can attribute it to the altitude mainly, I guess. I never had that, "let's go party!" attitude. Just the "let's go nap" attitude. I had a day of really being physically sick, too, and, no, I wasn't hungover.

All in all, it was a great week. I enjoyed a lot of music, got to talk to Guy Clark and hear him in the most intimate setting. That was truly the highlight of the week. Mark made a Randall knife for him and he was speechless. Interesting for a wordcrafter of the highest order to be speechless. If you know Guy Clark's music, you know why the Randall knife was the perfect gift.

I may or may not go back and give more details of the week eventually. Not really a lot to tell. It was colder than f*&% and beautiful at the same time.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland