Saturday, Jan. 02, 2021 2:29 pm

Happy 2021

My friend DM Sunshine in Wisconsin said my drawing daily was inspiring her to write daily. I always want to write daily, too, and then it goes by the wayside. But I've written SO MUCH during COVID, I might as well count it. I guess I'm wishing I would write something that counts for something.

So I just re-read all this year's entries. Pretty skinny year for writing here, but at least there are a few entries to describe the COVID experience. I laughed when I read "Day 35" --- had no idea I'd quit counting the days before long. I don't even think of the months anymore.... time just goes by and everything stays weird.

I'm VERY fortunate that I like being home alone and this has been a good year for me. This last month seems to have been amazing. Money is coming in from various sources unexpectedly. I got a little raise at work (I am back at work from home, have I said that?) and a raise in my radio job, too. I got the latest government stimulus money. I got a bonus from my radio boss. I got a nice check from my former in-laws for Christmas! Totally unexpected, but so lovely. And I've done a lot of work for a friend (she may be a former friend soon) and when/if she pays me I'll have another big payoff. And there's a radio paycheck waiting in the mailbox for me right now. And a Disney benefit should be coming along soon. There is a lot of lovely energy around me. I am a money magnet.

I'm working on refinancing the house, too. It's been two years since the divorce refinance and the rates are a lot lower so I can save about $270 a month with this. I've had to move some savings around and pay off my credit card debt and I think everything should go forward easily. Fingers crossed.

I keep debating with myself whether this will be a "dry January." I used to do it regularly, but I haven't in a long time. After 10 months of drinking a LOT here at home, it would be good for me. I've gained like 18 pounds during COVID and it would help that, too. And maybe I'd have more mojo if I weren't drinking every night. I do not know. But I don't want to trumpet it or tell people because I hate to fail publicly (I know, I know, that's WHY you tell people). I did not drink yesterday and that was good. We'll see how this day goes. I need to be very aware of what makes me go for a drink -- usually, I think, it is just boredom and habit.

So, anyway ... Happy 2021. It's just an arbitrary number and label, but I hope to God it changes things in this world. 2020 was a total dumpster fire for EVERYONE, it seemed, and I hope we have rapid changes and improvements in January. Two Democratic Senators elected in Georgia Tuesday!!! The Electoral College vote is certified in Congress without a problem on Wednesday!!!! President Joseph Biden is inaugurated in a slimmed-down but beautiful and meaningful inauguration on January 20!!! The Cowboys win the Superbowl on Februray 7!!! I can dream big, right? I talked to my cousin yesterday and he was talking about the alignment of Jupiter and Saturn that happened just before Christmas for the first time in 800 years and how we actually are entering into the Age of Aquarius now. I read up on it and he is kind of right (it's all pretty sketchy). Interesting ideas there to explore. I do remember as a kid when the song was popular hearing that, no, we were actually in the Age of Pisces at the time (which I liked since I am Pisces). When my cousin was saying we were moving into Aquarius that didn't seem to make sense since Aquarius comes BEFORE Pisces, but I looked it up and that is the way it works. It's something about the north pole and the earth's axis are pointing at the segment of the sky with that constellation.

Bottom line. When I read this in 12 months I hope my thought is "Wow -- it was so much BETTER than she imagined!" Covid is prevented and cured, wars end, peace reigns, Americans unite, etc. etc.

Before || After
Older Entries
The Pace Picks Up - Monday, Jun. 28, 2021
Next step - Sunday, Jun. 27, 2021
Mid-Year Catch Up -- POST Covid - Saturday, Jun. 26, 2021
Starting the New Year - Monday, Jan. 18, 2021
Date Night - Sunday, Jan. 03, 2021
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland