February 09, 2002 12:14 am

Catch up

Haven't updated this week like I should have and I think that is a sign of being down. I'm better tonight. I have also been very very busy.

The lunch with the weird cousin and her weird husband went very well but lasted most of the day. That gave me a tension headache. That was Tuesday when it was cold and rainy all day long. She cooked a fabulous soup with kielbasa and tortellini and white beans. So warm and comforting. And corn muffins. And a Hugonaut torte with whipped cream. Man, that woman can cook. I admire her complete lack on inhibition but I don't think I could ever be that uninhibited. After lunch they were telling us of their trip in September (during the tragedies in NY and DC) to Portugal and Spain. They put on a CD of a guitar player they found and loved. Then she prints out a poem she wrote about the night, makes us close our eyes and reads us the poem! I could never do that in a million years. The husband is a wonderful composer/pianist and he also played many wonderful compositions for us on the piano or recorded ones on the computer, and that too is so foreign to me. Here! Look AT ME!! See WHAT I HAVE DONE!!

Wednesday this week I worked again at the cafe and then rushed downtown to the bank then rushed to ACC to take a test (made an A!) then rushed home to meet a friend from Dallas. She is a songwriter and came to town to write and to go to the Austin Songwriter's meeting. We were both members of a great writer's group in Dallas, a group I miss a bunch. I got home less than an hour before the meeting she wanted to be at so I had to quickly shower and get ready and dash up to the Saxon Pub.

The meeting itself was very interesting. Fun to be surrounded by such creative people. They had a songwriters roundtable after and four or five songwriters played their songs. One guy was absolutely amazing with his keyboard and his creative songs. I want to go to his website and learn more. Great novelty songs.

After the Saxon, Bev and I went to Speakeasy to see Mark play. First time I'd been there since the night before I started this awful job. Glad to be back out late again. It was fun to see the band and they had a new song I hadn't heard. They also had a different drummer sit in for some songs. He will replace Mark when Mark goes to Europe with Guy. Nico was a VERY handsome Frenchman and a great drummer. I might have to go see the band play while Mark is gone!

Yesterday Bev left and checked into a motel so she could do some creating on her own. I hoped to have a day of quiet and rest but Mark's tire and alignment troubles and phone calls and tasks kept me busy.

Today I had a great lunch with a woman tha may be a good contact for me for a job. We'll see about that. Nice person to know, no matter what the outcome.

Tonight I worked at the cafe again and I had a slow section and it was a slow Friday night but I did okay. I'm tired and ready to take a hot bath and go to bed.

Oh, and the big bummer of the day: The unemployment commission called to get more information about my termination. Seems that the radio station said I was fired for unsatisfactory performance. They certainly never told ME that I wasn't doing a satisfactory job and they didn't mention that at my firing either. I gave my side of the story and they haven't responded to the TWC's call but there will be a ruling on Monday. If they haven't called by then I guess they would rule in my favor. We'll see. If I don't get unemployment I believe I have a good cause to sue. I almost wish that would happen. Of course, the guy that is firing me would be long gone by then. It is he that I would REALLY really like to cause difficulties. I would like to be the burr in his saddle on his ride to Detroit. What an idiot. Who in their freakin' right mind would leave Austin to go to work in Detroit??????

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland