February 04, 2002 11:45 pm

Strange happenings

I worked at the cafe today and it felt good to work and come home with cash. Isn't it weird that coming home with $30 makes you feel richer than getting a paycheck every two weeks with several hundred dollars in it? I guess it works until you start paying the bills.

I did a lot of that today too. Trying to see what can be delayed until after the 15th and what must be payed now. There are several different money sources that are supposed to come in but you sometimes can't predict when they will get here.

Tonight I did a bunch of school work so that tomorrow I can go to ACC and take a test over this section.

Tomorrow we're also going to one of my weird cousins for lunch. She wants Mark to make her a knife. I'm assuming it is a kitchen knife since she is a wonderful gourmet cook. That is why I accepted the lunch invitation, we need to take advantage of all the good free meals we can. She is only weird because she is very free-spirited, but she can also be incredibly boring. She repeats stories I've heard time and time again and always brings the conversation back to her. She is much older than we are, being as she is in my Dad's generation, but she does act much younger than her age. She is most interesting because she has lived in Austin since the late 1950s and her husband at the time worked for Lady Bird Johnson. They went to parties at the LBJ Ranch and she rode the elevator with Lyndon one day and on and on. When she gets on those stories, I am eager to hear more.

Interesting turn of events in the continuing saga of the woman that bugs me so with her friendship with my husband. Apparently the cold shoulder she received from me and my friends at Antone's a few weeks ago has paid off. Mark asked her to lunch and she said she didn't feel comfortable doing that anymore. I admire her for saying that and for recognizing that I don't like her friendship. Mark has some concerns about her mental health (ME TOO!ha) and whether something more is wrong since she's going through as bad an economic time as we are. I feel a little guilty but I'm glad they are becoming more independent. I still hope she goes through with her plan to move to Dallas.

Oh, and this is the thing of the day that really got my undies in a wad. The owner of the cafe I work at also works at the radio station that fired me last week. The heartless folks that fired me told HIM this week to tell ME to not bad mouth the company while I'm working at the cafe. Where do they get off telling me how to conduct myself on my new job when they let me go from my old job? I don't know how they even knew I was working at the cafe, I certainly never told them. I don't exactly know who they think I would talk bad about them TO, but it really burns me that they tell my NEW boss a message to give to me. I really have evil evil thoughts about certain folks at that company.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland