2000-02-04 00:52:04

Busy, brave day

This has been a long long day but better than the last few. I at least was out of my comfort zone and doing things I don't usually do. When I got up this morning I told Mark I had had the strangest dream. I dreamed he had told me he wanted to learn to cook. He assured me that it was all a bad dream and that I had no reason to be concerned. Ha. He opened the floodgates with that admission last night and I'm going to hold him to it.

Jette suggests a book called "My Apartment Has a Kitchen?" to get him started. Sounds just like what he needs.

I got my cool glasses and sunshades today and I am now hip and happening. It's funny how I've never worn glasses to the office and I wear these new cool funky ones and no one notices. We are all so much more conscious of our tiny improvements than others. In fact, our receptionist said, "Did you highlight your hair?" I told her that was a month old, the glasses were my latest improvement.

Had lunch at the Texadelphia with Jette. My friends and sister are now jealous that I had lunch and KNOW Jette. They are quite curious about her and her life from reading her journal (sorry no link but here's the URL: http://www.impudence.com/journals/anhedonia/index.htm). I made up lots of good things to make the lunch really interesting for them all. Wouldn't want anyone to be disappointed. But for you, my loyal readers, I mean reader, I'll tell the truth. We had a very pleasant lunch of giant Philly steak sandwiches and learned a little bit more about each other. I still felt reluctance to ask questions. I figure that everything she would want me to know is in her journal and I shouldn't pry. I did learn more about her job and I had been curious about that. Also got more of the scoop on the elusive Ryoga (and learned I'd been pronouncing his name wrong---isn't it weird how we have to have a pronunciation even in our head?).

My review of Texadelphia? Better steak sandwiches than Delaware Subs but I've had the real thing in Philadelphia and there is nothing to compare. Glad I got to experience it though, I love their commercials.

Went on from lunch to visit my friend Grace since I was on "her side" of town. (here's Grace's life: http://graceofgrape.diaryland.com/ ) Little Sam was as adorable as ever and has learned how to wave bye-bye and continues to talk and pitter-patter. Grace stewed about the various aggravations in her life for a while. I wish I could just "solve" things for people. I think talking did some good for her. It has got to be hard to be home all day with no real world contact and also not have the freedom to do your own thing. I love being home alone but being home and having every waking moment devoted to this adorable little boy would be very very hard. I think there would be a lot of guilt involved too. I know how guilty I feel when the house is a mess or I haven't done something and I can't imagine what I've been doing or where the time has gone. It's hard to quantify "took care of a baby" and realize how time consuming and exhuasting it is. Keep your chin up Grace! Call me if you need help.

I dashed on to the Dobie Mall to see Peeping Tom. I hadn't been to the Dobie Mall and was glad to figure out the parking garage (it is free for movie goers even though it didn't appear that it would be when I pulled in). I'll spend more time looking at the mall one of these days but I felt out of place and very old with all the 19 year old students there.

I saw Peeping Tom because I had studied Michael Powell, the director, in British Film at UNT. I did a paper on his screenwriter and partner Pressberger while in school and saw a lot of their films. This one was made after Pressberger died or after they didn't work together or something (I need to check it all out on the imdb.com). It had been banned and was incredibly shocking in 1960 but, of course, it was very very mild by today's standards. I don't think you see a drop of blood despite two murders and a suicide. I was surprised it was in color. The pictures in one of my books are black and white and I had it in my mind that it was black and white. Wouldn't recommend that you run out and see it but I had a purpose to see it and I'm glad I did.

Went to Asel Art supply and bought some fun pens. Didn't need them but if I could I would buy everything on every aisle in Asel. I wish I knew how to paint or draw or something. No, I don't really want to take a class or even spend the time doing it, just wish I had that talent.

Finally went to work about five. I did seem to get down to work a little more quickly than I usually do. Maybe just because I knew I was short on time. Worked, worked, worked. This Adderall is a wonderful thing because I don't have any appetite and don't have to go to dinner.

Talked to my folks tonight and Dad is still very sick, after a week of medicine, and Mom is sick too. I had hoped he'd get much better and they would come to visit this weekend but that isn't going to happen. And with them being so sick I'm not going to go see them either. I haven't done anything for my Dad's birthday at all. I guess I'll at least go get a card since they aren't coming.

The maid comes tomorrow and I can't wait until the house is sparkling clean and smells good from one end to the other. It will be a lot easier to enjoy the weekend if there isn't a filthy house mocking me.

Lord, I do ramble on. Now I will reward myself and go read the other entries, especially the disgusting one Jette said she wrote last night.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland