2000-02-03 01:28:15

Expanding head

So often as I am starting to write in this journal I have the same thoughts that I have about my entire life: I want to do a better job than what I'm doing but I will have to wait until later when I've (got time, gotten organized, have something to say, etc.). Take your pick. I am constantly in awe of the people that write a cohesive essay or a humorous treatise. On the other hand, the journals I enjoy the most are the ones that are just a recounting of someone's day. So I'll relax for tonight and just tell you what is going in my world.

I have not succeeded at all this week in becoming a "gym person." I haven't been there since Friday. I tell myself at night that I will get up and go the next morning and then morning comes and it is more fun to continue to sleep or drink coffee and read the paper or shove bamboo under my fingernails than go to the gym. I think I would do better if Mark left the house and had a "regular" job. But then again, I'd probably enjoy being home alone even more and not venture out. Tomorrow will not be an improvement because I made lunch plans on the north side of town and that will be my impetus to get up early but not to do anything foolish like go to a gym and THEN come home and shower and dress and drive to the other side of Travis County.

Today was a really good day. The President asked me up to his office and we had a really good conversation. He didn't know a lot about the background that I have had aside from radio and was very impressed that I used to be a motivational speaker and trainer. He wanted me to the training I used to do on customer service for our staff. I said, no way, not a chance. He didn't push it.

After I finished with him and went back to work my immediate boss and his new and upcoming sidekick came into my studio to do a critique session. I was less apprehensive than I have been in the past because I am learning that they are not going to rip me apart and anything they say that might be contrued as critical is truly something that will improve me.

They listened to some of the breaks I'd done for today in Baton Rouge and thought I sounded great. They asked to see some records we've been asked to keep and they were very impressed in the way I keep mine and asked for me to give them a blank copy as an example to others. Then I told them about an idea I've been kicking around for a few months and they thought it was a great idea and to move forward with it. All in all, I had a good day of impressing the bosses and feeling good about the job I'm doing.

Of course, I still didn't work any faster than usual and I was at the studio until midnight. I've got to cut down on the time it takes to do this job.

I'd better do some work on the project I promised the bosses I would work on. Some progress would be better than none at all.

*****

Oh my God. My world has just been turned upside down. Just as I was about to upload this text my husband dropped a bombshell on me. With a long preface to prepare me, he announced that he would like to learn to cook some. Help me back up off the floor. This is the guy that I've loved for eight years and the man that, when I told him he could mix up a pitcher of juice from concentrate, he said, "That sounds an awful lot like cooking to me!" I guess this careful plan I've had of not cooking since we moved to Austin has finally come to fruition. Anybody know any web sites on "man cooking"? This may blow over by tomorrow. Maybe he's been doing crack tonight.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland