February 28, 2002 10:28 pm

I'm back

I don't know where the time has gone since I wrote last. Oh, wait, sure I do. It's been stopped up in my sinuses with all the snot that has been trapped there for days. Or stuck in my swollen and sore throat. I'm not well, but I have a little more energy today. That, and a really nice e-mail from a new reader (! hi Forrest!) got me back on here.

I had a great acheivement tonight! The goal I set for January has finally been achieved. I have the Internet and e-mail on both house computers now. Mark got the cable installed Monday. I had assured him that all he would have to do was install the cable and I would do the rest. But, when I went to follow the instructions (yes, a rare moment of attempting to follow instructions) the instructions it had didn't match up with my wacky computer (so sue me, it's a Windows NT). That was Monday and I quickly gave up. Not because of frustration alone, but because I was so worn out and exhausted from this sinusitis. Today I have some energy again so I made another attempt and I got it to work. The computers are not networked, which I would like, but I got them both online at the same time and that was my first goal. Now, Mark and I can do our computer stuff at the same time and maybe spend some time together when we aren't online! Or, at least I can send him an e-mail saying hi. .

So, what's happened in the past week? I had the best night of tips at the cafe that I've had so far. If every night could be a Saturday night, I might be able to make a living there. I went out with a former co-worker and discussed her future. She's one of the co-workers that had some lessons to learn about unemployment. When we were first laid off, I warned the "kids" that there was no time to vacation and enjoy the unemployment checks, they needed to get out and find a job. I've been there and know that just because you want a job to come along, it isn't always there when you want it to be. She didn't listen, I probably wouldn't have either at her age, and now she is working part-time in a liquor store, has run out of unemployment money, and now is probably going to sell her house and move back home to Houston.

I have worked each day this week and still enjoy the new doctor's office job. I've been very glad to have a job where I don't have to talk since my voice is in and out and I sure don't FEEL like talking. Other than the job, I've mostly just slept. Slept, and eaten frosted Cokes. Frosted Cokes are a great comfort food. Some would call them Coke floats (vanilla ice cream with Coke over it), but in my family they are frosted Cokes and my mother made them for us each time we were sick (and many times in between). I've had them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for the last three days.

Actually, I did need to talk once this week. Tuesday morning I was thinking that I hoped the radio station I've been doing spots for wouldn't need them. At just about that time, the phone rang and it was the station. She heard my "hello" and immediately knew I wouldn't be doing a commercial for them. They were very understanding.

My sweet dogs have been in the house the last two nights because of the hard cold snap we had, but tonight we'll be warm so they sleep on the porch again.

My prose is as stuffy as my nose tonight, I'm afraid. Maybe March will come in like a lion and inspire me.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland