Tuesday, Feb. 26, 2008 9:55 am

Back to it

I have been bad about writing anywhere this past week. That bad headache I had turned into a lot of things and I ended up staying home Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, never venturing out of the house or out of my pajamas. It was nice to have a job where I could do that. Dangerous, in a way, because I really like being home in my pajamas all of the time, but nice.

Yesterday I was back at work for MM although my nose would NOT stop running and I was sneezing up a storm. I felt better at least. This morning I wake up and don't seem to have near as many symptoms. I hope it lasts. The wind kicked up and a front came through and it is a lot cooler, but I think the pollen is supposed to be just as high. I think it is oak that really kicks my ass.

When I wasn't sleeping, I did do a lot of genealogy and had a lot of great discoveries. Like I've said before, doing genealogy is like reading the most interesting novel that no one else has read about. I can't really tell anyone about it because unless they know the whole story and the background, they can't appreciate it so I just have to keep it all to myself.

This week I have got to get my act together to get up to my sister's for my mom's big 80th birthday party this Saturday. I'm looking forward to it, but I wish it could be all I would WANT it to be for her. My sister puts on great parties and it will be fun, but I wish I were better at it so it could have really special stuff. Oh well. I worked myself to death on a slide show and then saw that it looked horrible just on a computer monitor, much less on a TV, so that won't work. I'll just have the pics rotate instead or fade and look so fabulous like they do on a 3 inch screen. I'll show it to Mom later, I guess. I wish I had a nice present for her, too. NO ideas at all. Saturday would also be Mom and Dad's 56th anniversary.

I may have a job soon. I may end up where I started when I moved to Austin. Not in the job itself, but in the people I would work for and the place I would work. I would like to work downtown again, that was fun. Being there at 9 in the morning will not be as fun, but maybe I could adjust. At least the job does not involve a lot of talking and does involve work at the computer, which I am good at. We'll see, it is only a possibility. In fact, I think someone else would have to be let go in order to be hired, and that is always an obstacle. They have another opening that I might be okay at, but I don't know. I like the bigger job with the bigger salary. It would be nice to have an income again. Unemployment has bridged the gap and we, fortunately, haven't had to live on charge cards or even use much of our savings, so far, but without unemployment money (which ends by May) we would be in some serious straits.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland