Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2004 11:13 am

Saxon and Spoke

When I did my quick entry I forgot to tell about seeing Junior Watson Friday night at the Saxon. Junior Watson is a California guitar wizard that is adored by many of the jump swing guys here in town. Seth always adored him and Mark has all of his CDs and always studies how his band works. Great music. He is rarely in Austin so Mark wanted to see him, obviously. I did, too. Mark was willing, which almost surprised me. I met him at the Saxon after work and we were fortunate enough to run into someone Mark knew that was sitting up front and had a couple of extra seats at their table. So we were there for the short 30-minute performance of Junior. It was really something. The next band was Tommy Castro. He struck me more as a hispanic Robert Cray-type blues guy. I enjoyed him and he was a great guitar player, no doubt, but it didn't have the snap the Junior had. We stayed for a few songs and then went on down the street to the Kerbey and had a nice dinner and then went home. It was really a nice, impromptu date. I don't know when Mark and I last went out to see music together in Austin. For two people that see music several nights each week, it's kind of odd that we don't do it together.

Yesterday was a good day. I had a little bit of love from the boss that I have been missing lately. He is very busy and frazzled (as we all are), but he took the time to come see me in the studio and thank me for a CD I had made him last week. Nice.

Last night I joined the Austin accordion players at the Spoke and I played! I can say I have now played my accordion at the Broken Spoke and no one can challenge my words! Of course, I played along with about 5 other players and I was just sort of noodling along on the bass line while they were improvising all over the keys. Nice people though and I enjoyed being included. Enjoyed Debra and her band through the evening, too. It's hard to sneak out early in that place so I just stayed and enjoyed all the music. It was and I had no place I needed to be so I concentrated on just being in the moment, which is so difficult for me.

Of course, I didn't do work last night that I intended on doing at home and I havent' done it yet this morning either.

Tonight I am taking the sometime creepy photographer out for dinner for his birthday... just the two of us. Is that weird? Mark last week said it was fine, no problem, last night he seemed a little less sure. I would love for Mark to go along. I'm mainly doing it to be nice. He asked me to dinner since his wife is out of town (red flag, I know). It will be early and in a bright, noisy environment.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland