2000-02-24 12:06:58

Folks coming

May I politely request that all you funny journalers please quit writing such amusing entries so often and quit pointing me to new and amusing journals elsewhere? I don't have enought time!!! Am I going to have to quit my job so that I can read weblogs and journals? Who will feed my children? Okay, my dogs?

The job continually takes up a huge part of my day. It has been years since I have had a job that took up so much of my time. I enjoy it but I wish I could condense it down just a bit. Others that do what I do whiz in and out of their studios blissfully unaware that they didn't mention...let's say, the daffodils that are blooming in Tyler or the fact that Lubbock was mentioned on David Letterman's first show back. That means nothing to you, I'm sure, but the deal is, I get caught up in the details of doing a show very very well instead of just doing a pretty good job. It just takes so much time.

I'm not going to worry about my perfection issues today (which strangely don't dog me in any other part of my life). My parents are coming to Austin today. Whoo-hoo! I'm very excited. They haven't been here since Labor Day and haven't seen most of the updates and changes Mark has made in the house. And the last two trips they made to Austin were quick trips for my cousin's wedding and for a family reunion and they didn't stay here with us much. I've talked them into at least three nights here, mostly they consented because Mark is out of town for two of them. I think they rest easier if they aren't "intruding" on his life, but he loves to have them around, too. Mom and Dad are easy company. They get up and make their own coffee and find something to eat and keep quiet until I'm ready to emerge from my coccoon. They enjoy where we take them but are also happy to sit and watch TV all evening if that's what we do. I'm sure I get my easy adaptability from them.

I need to get on the phone and invite the aunt and the grandmother down for lunch Saturday. If I make that commitment I will have to figure out what to cook and that is a huge hassle for me. I haven't cooked a meal for real people in months, if not years. I can do it but I'm just more accustomed to me and Mark eating cereal for dinner watching David Letterman at midnight than preparing a balanced meal with, what are those green things..., oh, yes, a vegetable.

Highlight of the week so far: (or at least since the bluebonnet discovery Saturday) I ordered some really cool pens from onlineofficesupplies.com and they arrived muy pronto (that's Spanish for very pronto). They are Stabilo Sensor medium 0.7 pens (number 187/46 if you want black) and they are really fun to write with. I've even written three handwritten letters this week because of them! I need to write some in the under-the-bed journal too. Life's simple pleasures are the best. . .

Speaking of good customer service, get this: Mark gave me a cute little box thing from Pottery Barn for Valentine's but when we opened it, it wasn't right. One side was crooked, not from shipping or getting broken but just made wrong. Mark called them and they said they would ship another to us immediately and we could keep the old one or give it to charity. How's that? Nice, huh? Go Pottery Barn! Got the new one yesterday and it is right.

I have, on my desk, tempting me: two different book clubs begging me to rejoin and get a dozen books for a dollar, or somesuch. Man, I am so tempted. Such a great deal. Especially now that you can do it online and tell them no online when they send their stupid cards to you too. So easy. So tempting. Then I check my shelf of "books to read" and see it still bulging with that bio on Eleanor and Franklin, and that mystery by someone I've never heard of, and the Ann Rule true crime, all books that I got through special deals before and haven't found the time to absorb. I'll put off the decision another day or two. Maybe I'll let Mom look at them and let her have half of them and that will make me feel less greedy.

Ramble ramble ramble . . . and I look up and I'm missing Natalie Allen and Lou Waters with my noon CNN news. What am I thinking? Must run!

And a happy birthday to Grace (graceofgrape.diaryland.com)! No card for you yet! What kind of lousy friend am I? Hope your day with the hubby is a fun one.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland