Wednesday, Feb. 22, 2006 9:12 am

Surgery day

I'm at my folks and we're getting ready to leave for Dad's surgery. I'm just killing time. A wrong number woke us up at 7:30...way too early.

I expect Dad's surgery at noon will leave him woozy through the afternoon. We think he'll get to come home today, but we're not for sure. I hope he does. He'll be more comfortable here ... and goodness knows the rest of us will be.

Long drive up last night in the fog, but it wasn't too bad. I got a latte in Temple to keep me going. Made it here just past 11.

My cell phone cratered yesterday. It went out the last time I came up for Daddy's surgery, too. Isn't that odd? This time it kept telling me "no network coverage" even though I was getting an occasional notification that I had voice mail and I sometimes could make a call on it. I called and she talked me through some tests that didn't help. Then she told me to try the little sim card in an old phone if we had one. We did and it worked. In fact, by the time I got the charger and plugged it in and put in the card and turned it on... it started ringing. Two calls in a row. Pretty odd timing. But it works. That's the point. This old phone seems as big as a shoebox and the screen is black and white and as old fashioned as Pong, but it makes and takes calls and has most of my phone numbers in it (lost my sister's for some stranger reason) and it works. I tried to order an exchange on the internet, but I'm not sure it went through. I'll see if I have a new phone when I get home and if I don't, I'll go to the cell store and get a replacement.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland