Monday, Feb. 02, 2004 10:16 pm

Superbowl and the Double D

What a weekend. Home now from my Superbowl trip to see the folks and family. It was a nice time. Dad was in the hospital last year when I went to visit him for his birthday. He's in much better shape now than he was then. I took my accordion with me and played it for them and jammed with my nephews, one on guitar and one on piano and sax. It was really cool. My nephews were humoring me, but it was fun.

Our favorite commercial was the Pepsi commercial. If you didn't see it, it said "Seattle 1953" and a young boy sees a Pepsi machine and a Coke machine. He buys a Pepsi and is inspired to go into the guitar store and buy a guitar. Then it gives his name: James Hendrix. Then it shows the Coke machine next to Bob's Accordion Store. On screen graphic: That was close. We all really laughed since Connor loves Jimi and I love my accordion.

I have named my accordion now. He is Chester.

Wild Saturday night out at Poodie's. B! and I went out to see my friend (and hottie!) Double D. He did a great show, as usual. The wild part of the night was that a less-than-honest "friend" of mine is back and town and working there. I did my best to not draw attention to myself so I might not even have to talk to him. He, of course, spots me and is trying to relay a message to me with hand signals. What I gather is that he has "signed" Double D. He does artist management, but anyone that I've known that were his clients have let him go. Anyway, I'm sitting in shock that D would have let this happen. My plan was, as soon as I could talk to D, I would see if this was true and wave him off if I could. But when he finished the gig and I finally got close (and I mean close) to him, I could only think of his sweat and the sweet things he was saying into my ear. I got all the way home and realized I didn't warn him. I hoped he didn't discuss business after the gig. Surely, he wouldn't. I called and left him a message warning him to at least talk to me before he signed anything, and, if I was too late, to be careful.

Yesterday morning I was on my drive to the folks and was up around Fort Worth when D called. He was glad I called, but assured me that he had not signed anything and if that is what the sleaze said, then he was lying. He already knew the guy was bad news and was keeping his distance. He said the guy told him, "I can get you a duet with Willie." We both agreed that anyone that is friends with Willie, does not USE Willie.

So we had a great long conversation and I came away loving him more and happier that we are friends. I am still amazed and in awe and the new friendships I have formed this past year to four years. I am very lucky.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland