2000-02-21 13:19:49

Austin weekend

I believe the time has come for us to become a two computer family. Unlike a two TV family, where each family member is isolated and alone and focused on their TV show in their room, the two computer family could be side by side, enjoying surfing, computing, writing, without one the members of the two computer family slowly seething as the computer dominator in the family controls the computer for hours and hours.

If I had a spare couple of thousand I'd seriously consider it. It's my own fault, I suppose. I replaced the inconsistant scanner with a new one and thereby allowed Drummerboy hours and hours of eBay uploading fun. Meanwhile, my new printer sits in its box, abandoned, and there will be no fun color printing for me until I get a long stretch of time home and alone. That will not be today.

Highlight of the weekend was the absolutely serendiptitous discovery of two tiny bluebonnet plants in my front flower bed. I live in Austin and I have my own bluebonnets in my own front yard. Life is too cool.

I spent Saturday afternoon in this beautiful spring 60 degree weather trimming roses, trimming frozen fire bushes and lantanas and Mexican heather, remulching everything and making the garden look cared for again. It was incredibly fulfilling. Mark had to learn to stop worrying over every "OW" and "dammit" as I continually ran into rose thorns. Yes, they make good leather gloves that allow you to trim roses more easily, but I think the pain enhances the pleasure (this goes for GARDENING ONLY!).

Went to see the band play Saturday night. I loved the club. So much that I won't reveal its name. It was already way too crowded and I want to keep this one to myself. It reminded me of bars in Amarillo. And that, to me, is a GOOD thing. Cozy, homey, everyone seemed to know everyone, people began conversations with me just because they were sitting close by, bartenders were fun and talkative, even the margarita was good. It was also very Austin-y in its variety of characters there. A woman in her sixties or seventies with a huge Lynn Anderson-type blond wig and an evening gown with a sparkley, bead neckerchief around her neck and a diaphanous cape over her shoulders. A throwback to the seventies (the decade) fellow with a felt hat and a long beard and clothes that screamed Armadillo World Headquarters. No shortage of yuppies or computer nerds or whatever they would be called these days in Austin but all friendly and having fun.

I'm going to hook up my printer and play with color. Life should be in color.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland