Monday, Feb. 18, 2008 10:56 am

Family visit

I am just getting awake today and I am home alone. Mark came in earlier and they were getting ready to go to Zilker. I said I could go, too, but he said they were leaving immediately, so I didn't have to (get to? no, I was glad not to go). We had a good day with the family yesterday. They came a LOT earlier than we were expecting, but then they still went to the airport to get the daughter so we had time to run get a present for the little boy (our nephew!) and some groceries. We all went together last night to Shady Grove and it was very nice. The little boy is sweet and fun and funny. He had a great sense of humor. He was still full of energy and SOUND at the restaurant and Mark said, "No more coffee for you young man" and he immediately picked up on that. Soon he was saying "No more coffee for me!" and then he started saying "No more coffee for YOU old man!" Quick wit.

We recorded Mark's dad last night after the rest went back to the hotel. Mark got him to tell his story of promoting a couple of Willie Nelson shows in the 70s and starting a steakhouse in the late 70s that was quite successful. I'm glad my microphone worked so well. I used Mark's laptop to record with, though, and I still need to get better software on that Mac for simple voice recording. It wants every recording to be a production!

I did do some genealogy with dad-in-law yesterday. He told me about an ancestor of theirs in the Revolution and he has just joined the Sons of the American Revolution on that basis. I looked up a lot about him. Then he tells me that he is second cousins with the astronaut Alan Bean! I find that fascinating that Mark never knew that! How could you have such a famous cousin and not talk about it. So I'm going to have to do more on his family history, I guess.

Today I'll go work for M&M. I have a bad headache right now that I am attempting to shake.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland