Thursday, Feb. 16, 2006 12:33 pm

Setting limits

I think I am feeling a little better about the tax situation today. I still haven't called an accountant or done anything crazy like that, but I had a good talk with Seth and he told me some of the things I needed to know about 1099s and such. I'm printing out some instructions for tax prep right now and then I've got to get off to work.

Watched Idol last night and cried some more for my friend Will! He's so cute. I think they (the TV people) are setting it up so that we don't know a lot about him yet, which makes me think they will be showing us a lot more of him in the weeks to come. We saw full stories about some of the people that didn't make it and now they will concentrate on the ones that did. I need to make my top 10 predictions, just to see if I am right and also to see how my tastes change once you see these people every week.

My boss is out of town so there should be no reason to be hesitant to go to work. But there always is. Idiot listeners play a big part in that. I had a guy yesterday call to bitch about our traffic reports. I said "Then why do you bother listening?" and hung up on him. There were others that got on my nerves, too, but I've forgotten them.

Oh, the big thing that got on my nerves yesterday was the Virginia guy. First he asked me to do that feature that would be very time intensive and require WORK (can you imagine?) so I gave him some alternatives and he liked them (fortunately). But then yesterday he said he wanted to forward their phone lines to my phone lines in the afternoon. They don't have a live afternoon disc jockey so their studio is empty. So he wanted to forward those calls to me, thinking that 1.) the phones would get answered and 2.) I could record requests from it to recycle into the nighttime show. I fired back an email and said that that was NOT an option. I am as busy as I can be in the afternoon without having to play receptionist to another station and, also, I bet I wouldn't be able to answer most of the questions people had. People don't call in the afternoons for requests. They call to ask about traffic or the name of a song or "what was that song you just played?" I would look like an idiot to these people. Ain'tagonnahappen! Notgonda!

So, anyway, it seemed like I was dealing with that a lot through the day yesterday, but at least I was setting up boundaries and limits. Good for me on that one.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland