Monday, Feb. 16, 2004 10:51 am

Missing friend and mind

This mystery of the missing guitar player is driving me nuts. I don't know what my options are other than to just get over it. I don't believe he has just disappeared altogether since I got the text message Saturday night and his phone is still taking messages. But no email in a whole week is just weird for us.

Otherwise, I try to keep up with all that is going on in my life. Mark brought home the "inheritance" from his old roommate last night and, gracious, there is a lot of work to do. There are thousands and thousands of baseball cards of which we have no idea which are more valuable. There are bunches of them in binders and many more in boxes, so we can assume the bindered ones have a reason for being there. This morning we looked through a bunch of autographed pictures. The roommate worked at a hotel that had lots of celebrities stay there and he got lots of autographs that way and sometimes just took the registration slip to have the signature. He also photocopied the page from 1964 when the Beatles stayed there. Very cool to see their signatures and comments on the page. Mark will eBay all this stuff or do something with it, but some of it may be worthless to most people so then he'll have to find something else to do with it. Makes me want to get rid of everything I own so no one has to deal with my crap when I'm dead.

I've finished two books in the last few days. Books from my sister's collection... High Maintenance about a divorced realtor in New York City that is dating a married man but doesn't know it. Very bizarre book, but compelling. Not one I'd recommend to most. The other was called The Middle Ages about a divorced woman (trend here?) who hooks up by email with her college lover and starts that fire again. It was good and I read it easily over the weekend. Good women's fiction, but forgettable. Now I'm going to start the Davinci Code that has been at the top of the bestseller list almost a year and everyone else seems to have read already.

I don't know if I was on Nyquil (or whiskey/honey/lemon) or distracted by my missing CGP or Valentine's or what, but I missed a whole lot of work Friday night. It came back to haunt me at almost midnight last night when the overnight guy at the station called to say that there was no music to play after midnight. I had him do a couple of steps that would have loaded the music if there was any to be loaded (I couldn't even remember if I had done that step) and it didn't work. Fortunately, I live close and dashed up to the station to find I hadn't done ANYTHING for Monday so I had to start from scratch. I got it done and there was music at midnight and all was well, but it sure made me wonder where my head has been. I have checklists at work that I watch closely throughout the afternoon, but sometimes I go back to my office after my airshift and forget to check the completed list one more time. I guess I will have to make that an ironclad habit to look at the list before I leave the station.

Today I am still stuffed up and still not 100%, but there is lots to be done at work. I will try to get in a little bit early and get started on the checklist.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland