Tuesday, Feb. 13, 2007 9:19 am

Busy Monday Night

Yesterday was busy and long, but it was fun and worthwhile. I didn't get worn out by the tediousness of it all, and that is a good thing.

Got to work and discovered I hadn't planned for there to be a basketball game on the air, though, and that created immediate work to be done. Got it done, no sweat. Just glad that didn't happen on the weekend! Surely I am thinking enough to not make that mistake.

Walt was on my show and he is such a dear. So talented and so joyful. And I think he is great looking. My replacement, El, said she doesn't think he is good looking at all. I guess I won't be fixing her up with any dates.

I left work and went to the museum first for a quick look at a new display they have (for the media). I'm glad I went and finally met their marketing director. Very nice man. Odd to be there as late as I was because there was only one other (strange) media person there. He was a TV director, I think. I looked at the exhibit and ate my chili and drank a beer and then moved on.

I had time to kill before the show, so I went by the library downtown and loaded up on some books. Don't know if and when I'll read them, but maybe there will be something interesting there.

Went on to Antone's. Bugs me when I finally find a parking space blocks away and then pass several as I walk to the club. Oh, well, I need the walk, that's for sure.

The show was really incredible. Walt has a band, I knew that, but they were so good! Not just as a backing band, but as a vocal ensemble. It was like the Eagles or CSN&Y. Their harmonies were kick ass and they each did lead vocals at times. It was very exciting. I enjoyed seeing Sam again, too. Such a sweet man. He seemed just as genuinely happy to see me. M&M was a little busy with her phone and business and her new employee that was with her, but that is fine, too. I didn't even know if she would be there. I did sneak out before they were completely done and I hated to go, but I wanted to get to the other side of town.

Things were packed and hopping on the east side. Busy busy. My young friend the intern was there with several friends. It felt very welcomed as I came in when old friends were all greeting me and hugging me. Lots of people I knew there last night. That makes it so much more fun. I had some of the super garlicky pasta they had and enjoyed a few beers and had a good time.

Now I am up early for a remote today. Didn't know that this remote was mine until yesterday and I still don't have any information on it. Our promotions department is slowly getting to their feet. I hope they make it soon.

And tonight looks clear to just be home. That's a good thing.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland