February 10, 2002 11:16 am

Saturday night Par-TAY

I usually write at the end of a day but I'm just beginning my Sunday morning. Windy but sunny and much cooler than yesterday. I have to work later today but I need to call to see what time I need to be there.

Yesterday I did not accomplish much of what I set out to accomplish on my "day off." Can unemployed people have a day off? I went to the acupunturist for a treatment and it just relaxed me so I had to come home and sleep some. She is also a waitress part-time and she knew all the places that would be sore. She asked if my hips were sore. I said, no, mostly my back, neck, ankles, shoulders, legs, arms, lower back and hands, but my HIPS were fine. Then she pressed two spots on my hipbones and it hurt like hell. She knew what she was talking about. She loaded me up with needles and it really helped a lot. Hope it holds through tonight's work.

Slogged around at home through the afternoon and I can't remember doing anything. Answered lots of e-mails. I was thinking I was free and clear through the evening and then I remembered the Mardi Gras party I was invited to. So I was gearing up my thinking for that when I got the call from an old friend in town from Denver. Yes, I'd forgotten that "date" too.

So I ended up going and getting him and having a nice dinner at Guero's and then moving on to the party.

Tom and I have been friends over 20 years now. He is a sportswriter and I met him at ball games in Amarillo. I became friends with several sportswriters there and have remained friends with Tom and Greg ever since. We've gone to JazzFest together lots of times, along with other sportswriter friends of theirs and various girlfriends on their part and various boyfriends on my part (well, I think I only took a boyfriend once, I took Mark after we were married). Tom and I even dated a long, long time ago but there was no chemistry. He can be a very boring guy. A very nice guy and enjoyable but boring. We had a good time last night though. He has a new girlfriend and was excited to tell me all about her.

Tom didn't want to go to the party so I went up to it on my own. I wasn't really in a PARTY!!! WHOOHOOO!! kind of frame of mind so I wasn't putting my best foot forward in meeting people. I did enjoy the folks that I did meet and talked to, but it is weird to avoid the topic of "what do you do?" because I didn't want to answer that question myself. My biggest surprise was seeing Judy Maggio from TV and finding out that she is my friend/the hostess's sister-in-law. How had I missed that all these years? It was nice to meet her but I feel sorry for her. I'm sure she is used to it but I don't think I could stand having everybody in the room know who I was and me not know who they are. I much prefer radio where sometimes people know who you are but mostly you can remain anonymous.

The Mardi Gras party was fun with all the beads and good food and King Cake. Man that stuff is good. I got the baby so I guess that means I must supply the next King Cake. I'm sure everyone will forget by next year. I'm sure I will.

Mark got home from Dallas after I had left for my evening so I was happy to get home and see him again. Today he is happily working on drums in the garage and meeting with some people that want to buy some.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland