1999-12-09 13:24:11

Dogs

The phone is ringing but it is a gig for Drummerboy so I'll let the machine get it. I am not much for using the telephone, that's why I love e-mail. I have a good friend I need to call to invite to lunch (because he OWES me a lunch!) but I keep putting it off because it would involve the telephone. I don't know his e-mail address.

We took the dogs to the vet this morning. To introduce my dogs to this saga, I have Alex, who is about 9 and is a yellow Lab except he's getting greyer with age. He belonged to the husband before we met and came to live with me first! He's an almost intelligent dog that is very calm and very smart and never gets out (unless led astray by his crazy brother) and doesn't bark much unless there is a problem. Lucky is a wild, stupid black spaniel that we found in cemetery during a genealogy excursion. He was abandoned and thirsty and hungry and was the sweetest little thing. We named him Lucky since he was Lucky we found him. I wish we'd named him RIP since we found him in the cemetery but we didn't think of that soon enough.

The dogs went to the vet today for a heartworm test. We've been giving them medicine and they were tested just a year or so ago but the new vet insisted on a test before he'd give us new medicine. Yikes! $184 for the tests and the medicine. I don't quite think they are worth it. Aren't food and shelter enough? Lucky would certainly be dead long ago if we didn't have him, so why should we give him heartworm preventative? Guilt. Nothing but guilt!

We've been having Lucky wear a "no-bark" collar for a few days because he's started barking for no good reason, and howling when the firetrucks' sirens are blowing. We have it set up loud enough that even I can hear the beep when he barks. I can just read his mind:

heylook!there's a squirrel BARKBARKBARK BEEEEEEEEP

heywhatwasthatsound? BARK BEEP

thereitisagain BARKBARK BEEPBEEP

BARKBEEP BARKBEEP BARKBEEP BARKBEEP BARKBEEP BARKBEEP

[Loud knocking on the window--"Lucky, shut up!!!"]

hey,dadmust havescared itaway goodfordad

+++++++++++++++++

To maybe conclude the Whataburger incident...

I got a nice e-mail from the Austin supervisor and he asked for my phone number. I gave it to him and got a nice call from Cynthia, the store manager, who apologized again profusely and offered to buy my lunch if I'd come in and ask for her. Very good customer service. Now, I want YOU to go through their drive through and see how they handle it this time. I think I'm going to go to the Magnolia for lunch.

++++++++++++++++++++

I haven't even woken up quite yet today. I had to jump up and take the dogs to the vet and take D-boy to the car place to pick up (yes, the new) vehicle that they haven't really fixed and can't find the problem, and then I got home to do e-mail and writewritewrite! and heard from my Mom telling me my poor nephew is home sick and alone. He can't get online when he's alone so I called him and talked a while. He's 12 and he's a torture to his mother (only because he is 12) but he's fun to talk to.

++++++++++++++++++++

I cooked spaghetti when I got home last night and it made me gain two pounds. I'm sure if I had eaten a can of Vienna sausages (my staple on this hi-protein diet) I would have lost five. dammit

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland