1999-12-09 00:12:23

Glitches and bosses

Wow. If you checked in today, you saw a fiasco on my site. Don't know what the deal was. I copied and pasted the entry because I had so much trouble. I cut and pasted and then had to leave and didn't go back to check the page. When I looked at it tonight it had a slew of html codes that it didn't need and it had also lost some words, and therefore some sense. It should be better now. Maybe no one is reading and no one saw it.

Okay, on to better things. I good day today. We bought Christmas lights at the WalMart so we're getting closer to being Christmas-y.

I was going to write yesterday about my great boss and today I'm reconsidering. Actually, the boss is still being great but his "assistant" (sort of a Smithers from the Simpsons)gave me some bad news about my work load. I wonder if they are playing "bad cop good cop" with me so I'll still think the boss is great. Probably just my paranoia.

So, first, the reason he is (usually) a great boss. I have had a long string of poor to bad bosses and I've gotten very distrustful of authority. This last six months has been eye-opening, making me realize that some bosses can be pretty nice, and fun to be around and even generous!

The yesterday example of my boss's niceness. I work late in the day, usually three in the afternoon until 9 or 10 or 11 or 2... Yesterday he dropped in after five and offered me a beer. Now, it may have been "after hours" for the office workers but I was just getting started on my day, but, boy did I need a beer! Very thoughtful.

Today, though, I was a little disappointed. I took on a new station this week. The trade-off was that I was supposed to get rid of my weekend shifts (shows that air on the weekend--I don't record them on the weekend). But today, Smithers informs me that he's reduced my weekend shifts from seven shifts to --- SIX. Big relief. When the boss heard I still had six he assured me that they would be cut down. So he was being the good cop and leaving Smithers with the bad news. Hope it all straightens out by next week.

It is very difficult to write while keeping one ear to Southpark. It is Drummerboy's favorite show. I like it too but tonight I've staked my place at the computer so I can get this done while I'm still young. If this has disjointedness to it, that is the reason.

Okay, for the future, I'll remember I need solitude and html knowledge and patience and a Magnolia burger....

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland