Wednesday, Dec. 08, 2004 11:29 pm

No Reason for Santa to Be Blue

I'm just under the wire today. I look at the long Holidailies list and wish I had time to check in throughout the day and read the latest posts. Or even more time tonight to read the judges' picks or whatever the "best" are called. But I'm lucky to find the time to write today/tonight. . .between naps!

Up really early this morning. I think I set the alarm at 4:50 a.m. and then might have fallen back to sleep because I think I got up about 5:20. It's all a blur. It's a lot easier to forego a shower at that time of the day than on a usual day so I said, "Screw it."

I made it to the historic Spoke at 6 and found a crowd already formed. The most interesting member was one of our really really insane listeners. I have an ambition one of these days of writing entries about individual listeners to give you a taste of our lives at the station. I could do worse than start with FayDell. Surprisingly, she didn't seem quite so insane in person. But she is. Literally. Insane. Nuts. And, not just in the sense that makes you sad for someone. I mean raving lunatic, how-is-she-living-in-the-world crazy. I have a recorded phone call when she gave me God's phone number. Good to have. Did you know he lives in Houston? And he's got a really long name that includes Jesus (obviously) and Adidas (didn't know God took placement ads) and Sam Houston (all Texans may sigh knowingly).

Throughout the big morning I met many more of our listeners, saw many I knew, had to hug some people I'd prefer I never have to see again, had lots of moment of panic when they seemed to want me to stretch and I had nothing to say, etc. etc. Typical live broadcast morning. My tip of the hat to the men of the morning show, though. I have a hard time at any live broadcast, but this is maybe the worst of them all in their hotseat. They can be live, on-the-air, and talking and someone will still come up just to say "hi!" or tell them something. People think nothing of interrupting them. I would be slapping some asses and hiring bodyguards. No matter where I stopped with my roving microphone, straining to hear them over the crowd in case they were talking to me, someone would start talking or asking questions. I was so ready for those four hours to be over.

I did see great music from my new favorite Hayes and many others. I met the chief of police for the first time. It was a successful morning with the biggest amount of money raised ever.

When it all finally ended I came on home and crashed hard for a couple of hours. That, of course, still didn't make up for the four or five hours I had missed, so I was dopey throughout the afternoon, as my co-workers also were. I got home at 8 pm and laid down for a nap and just got up, therefore, the belated, groggy, entry. But an entry, nonetheless, and that IS the reason for the season, right? Daily entries? Yes, I thought so.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland