Tuesday, Dec. 07, 2004 9:58 pm

Dynamic Day One Entry

Whoo-hoo..... welcome to the Holidailies. If it weren't already the most stressful, busy, irritating, and depressing time of the year already, let's add another log to the Yule fire by adding an entry-a-day commitment! Whoo-hoo!

And, true to the stress of the season, as soon as I clicked "add this page," bad things happened and my entry didn't upload. heavy Christmas eggnog filled sigh.

Well, the gist of the beautiful and literary (and always humorous) first entry was that I was enjoying the bright sunshine today and looking forward to better things and not dwelling on last night's anger. And I'm going to have lunch with the good old boss and that will be nice.

Today is also the anniversary of my engagement... 12 years ago tonight. I've told the story on previous December 7th entries so I'll leave it there. It starts with "It was a cold and rainy night in Dallas, Texas..." Not really all that momentous since we had been "engaged" a long while, but this was the day I got the ring for my finger, finally.

Tomorrow the full literary impact, a real page-turning, tear-jerking, emotion-invoking entry.

----

This morning the site was having all sorts of troubles, so I'll give it another go this evening, still getting under the wire on Entry #1 for the Holidailies.

I was incredibly bummed this morning when my wonderful former boss cancelled our lunch together. I'm beginning to feel some rejection! Mark cancelled our dinner last night, the S-C-P cancelled drinks on me last night, and now the former boss, too. Is is something I said?

I went to some stores and picked up some more items for my boy Iggy (my adopted Christmas child) and got some things for Mark for Christmas, too. That made me feel a little better and more in the Christmas spirit.

Took another huge Xanax at work to help me through the afternoon when a half of one didn't work. I had a call from a listener/friend asking if my throat was hurting and another caller also commented I didn't sound like myself. That gets scarey when people start to notice.

I did get the sweetest letter from my former traffic guy. He writes fall-down-on-the-floor funny emails that are just hard to top. But he wrote a very serious one today with advice on how to handle the stress that is obviously causing "performance anxiety," as he put it. It was nice to get some support on this one.

I also got sweet text messages throughout the day from my CGP and that made me smile.

Tonight I went by Walgreen's and bought the first of the Christmas decorations. I decided it just made more sense to get some new stuff rather than start having to sort through the old right off the bat and see what I had (probably nothing!). I now have an archway of icicle lights in my front window and a small decorated tree in there that can be seen from the street. I also put lights around the crape myrtle, but there are some that don't work, so I may have to figure that out or take them back tomorrow. And my most fun thing... we have a big set of real longhorns in the living room. They are now decorated. I took a picture and will upload it and see if I can make it look right. Hard to get a pic that shows the little lights and the little packages on a garland. Trust me, it's cute.

Mark's at the gig tonight so I'm just enjoying eggnog with rum in it, Christmas music on the stereo and the soft glow of Christmas lights. It's a small start to the season.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland