Friday, Dec. 07, 2007 11:31 am

More unemployment

Wow. Just got off the phone with Nat. She just got fired. Wow.

That's a really scary part about being unemployed... hearing when other people are unemployed. It means more people (people with a lot more hustle) are out there looking for work and getting jobs that maybe were meant for ME. No, seriously, she is in sales and can do other things, but she does have lots of hustle. But it just means that the economy is getting worse and things are getting tighter and who is going to be next? Mark? More friends? Frightening. I am going to clean up and go sit with her a bit. El did that for me and it meant the world to me that day.

Otherwise, I had a down day yesterday. I went to the attic and dug out some Christmas decorations, but I also dug through some other boxes and discovered bugs had eaten the covers/glue off of two old books. I don't really care about the books, the but the bugs creep me out. Those whole boxes could probably be thrown away and never missed, they aren't heirlooms and I don't know how they ended up in the attic anyway, but it is a matter of committing to throwing away a book! I threw away the two that were ruined, obviously, and just sprayed the box and put it back. More to be done up there, for sure. Ick.

I did get more decorations out and got a big wreath put out on the front window. I frustrate myself because I do things half-ass and don't complete a project or do it well. If Mark had put this wreath up he would have screwed in heavy duty hangers on the house to hold it. I haphazardly nail two big nails and, while I'm banging on the outside of the house, I hear a picture fall off the wall of the house on the inside. Fortunately, the glass didn't break-- unreal since it was hanging up close to the ceiling above a window and it is BIG. I put lights around the wreath and checked the string before I started. I saw that some bulbs were burned out. Mark would have made a trip to the store for a new string or new bulbs. I let it ride and just move the unlit bulbs to the end of the string. I wrap the strings all around the wreath and get it hung up. I go to get the big outdoor extension cord. And the one that I thought was available and hanging on the garage wall is all tied into and firmly connected to a leaf blower and it would take a screwdriver and time to disconnect it. Finally I find another outdoor, heavy duty extension. I go plug it in and search for an outlet. There is an outlet high up in the eaves that Mark installed specifically for Christmas lights years ago. I plug in and the lights don't light. Crap. I go looking for a switch for that outlet and can't find anything that seems to make it work. Plan B. The cord won't go far enough to come around and plug in the garage and I don't have any more extension so that won't work. Plan C. I end up taking the screen off of the front window and running the cord into the office. That means that the screen is now easy to pull off and the window is unlocked... Hello thieves! My house is open and unprotected! Come on in! So I go with that and give up for the night. Later Mark tells me that the high outside outlet just needs to have a plug plugged in on the inside of the garage. Simple solution. Oh, and when I did get the wreath all lit up it has about twice as many bulbs on one side as the other. Lovely.

I did get the office cleaned up yesterday, too, and that feels good. Some books sacked up to take back to people or to give away. The top of the piano cleared off and all the other "around the house" knick-knacks are packed away for the season.

And today is Pearl Harbor Day, of course. I don't want to forget those feelings of being there and remembering those boys that must have been scared out of their minds, but did what they had to do to defend our country. What a horrible horrible day for people that were alive then to hear about.

And it is a memorable day for me and Mark. It is the 15th anniversary of being officially engaged with rings and all. I'm sure I've written about it in past years. I was sick and there was no proposal because he was so choked up and it was all a done deal with or without rings, but it is memorable night nonetheless. Fifteen years. How it has flown!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland